Help with dog sitting and walking in Galway, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 396 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/06/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and help in beautiful Kinvara, near the sea and the Burren!

    I am about 5km from a village called Kinvara, about 20km from Galway City. There is a bus into Galway.

    I have three beautiful dogs, two who are very active and love their walks, though they're strong so you would have to be strong to be able to handle them, especially if they see a cat!

    I work from home doing research work and psychotherapy, and sometimes I get very busy. At these times, I might need help with dog walking, gardening (there are always things to do in the garden) and cleaning (there is always cleaning and house DIY to do).

    I have a friend who lives with me (an ex workawayer!) and walks the dogs with me. Sometimes you would walk with her, sometimes alone, sometimes with me. You would have your own bedroom and small bathroom with shower. I also have musical instruments for you if you play or sing :-)

    You would need to be an animal lover (my dogs are allowed everywhere, so this place is NOT for you if you don't like dogs in the kitchen, in the bedrooms, and if you don't understand how to keep a garden gate CLOSED for their safety!). In addition, we are both vegans here and only my dogs eat meat, therefore you must be vegetarian or vegan and a non smoker (that includes electronic cigarettes), happy with a quiet country life for a while and able to clean up after yourself and generally keep things tidy. Untidiness and dirty dishes etc are stressful to me, so I will only do workaway if it makes my life easier, not more difficult!

    I provide lots of fruits and vegetables, pasta, rice, salads, snacks, etc. Let me know what you like and I will buy it in, so long as it is vegan. I tend to leave people to cook for themselves, and to share a meal on the odd occasion we're around for dinner at the same time! I actually don't like cooking much but I like to learn new recipes.

    There are lots of beautiful walks near here, though the Burren is driving or cycling distance - sometimes I can take you and sometimes I will be too busy so you would need to be able to look after yourself. If you have your own transport, that would make it easier for you, unless you're content to be home and/or by the beach a lot of the time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Kinvara is beautiful, calm and peaceful. I am also happy to help with English and I speak Spanish, Portuguese and French and a small bit of Russian and Persian.

  • Help

    Help

    Welcoming help with dog minding, dog walking, cleaning, tidying and potentially some painting or gardening if you like being outside.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am interested in learning Persian and in practising my Portuguese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room, bathroom with bath/shower

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off, you can go to the local pub up the road, walk to the beach, walk into Kinvara (takes 1 to 1.5 hours on foot) or go into Galway city (20km) on the bus where there are many things to see and do. There are restaurants and cafes in Kinvara. The area is generally rural and quiet.

    Please do not apply if you are a smoker (even outside/casual/e-cigs), or if you do not like animals! It is essential that you are a dog lover as my dogs are allowed everywhere in the house, including the kitchen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I could possibly take a workawayer with a small dog, but it would have to be extremely playful and friendly as otherwise there could be fights with my own dogs!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Host ref number: 957269988335