Help building in and around the farm (a tiny house) in a sustainable way in the quietness of the countryside in Onstwedde, Netherlands



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    I live in an old farmhouse (1850) with a cat and a dog. My 2 sons have left to go study in Leiden and Groningen. I love the quietness of the countryside. I also like to build and work on the house and garden. I try to do that in a sustainable way, as much as possible. I like to work and be with people who also want to live simple, of the grid ecological etc. Allthough it's a crazy world, we can still contribute to the good things that are also there.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It' s an agricultural area in the north east of the netherlands, next to a nature protected area. Groningen is an over 900 years old university city, 50 km from here. Within 20 km you will find the "Hunebedden", ancient stones. Like Stonehenge but completely different :).
    I have done a lot of building projects and can help people with techniques.

  • Help


    I'd like to get some help with maintanance of the farmhouse and the garden (7000m2). I want to finish the TINY HOUSE and build an extra bedroom and bathroom. But there is a lot more to do! E.g. painting.
    I'm not much of a cook, but together we can fix nice meals. There's enough room for 2 or 3 helpers, with the possibility to cook for yourself if you like. Enough private space

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    There is a simple guesthouse and trailor, each for 2 persons. There is also a bedroom in the house. But if you want to camp, that is also possible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearest busstop is 6 km. Trainstations are in Groningen (50 km), Assen (40 km) and Emmen (30) . There are a lot of possibilities to go hiking or cycling.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wifi. Connected to glassfiber.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 951619667634

Feedback (8)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Come join our loving, multicultural family in Loosdrecht, Netherlands
Experience The Netherlands while helping around the house and garden in Doorwerth, Netherlands