Join our family in a typical Andalucian white village, Álora, Spain

Country

Spain

new host  

Favourited 1 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/06/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Martijn (39), Karin (38) , Noah (1) and our dog Bamboo (1). We have been living in Álora, Andalucia since november 2020. We have a finca not too far from town where still al lot needs to happen in and around the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can experience live on the campo while still being close to a village. We are also fairly new here and are still learning new skills and about typical Spanish customs every day. The people around are very friendly. As there is a wide range of choirs and projects to do here you can defintely pick stuff up about gardening, DIY and more. But we are also full on in the learning fase, so we can probably learn as much from you as the other way around! We learn as we go. And you can come along for the ride :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Combining online work, the care for Noah and working on the finca can be challenging at times so we could really use some help. This includes work in the garden/on the land. We are basically building a new garden/food forest from scratch. All was overgrown when we got here and piece by piece we are working on making it a nice place to wander and chill.

    There is also DIY work to be done around the house. We need to put in a new bathroom, upgrade two bedrooms, build bunk beds, a small kitchen area and more. So there is work in painting, plastering, building, you name it.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Catalan: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in the already renovated double room with a double bed (180cm wide) and aircon. There is a small basic kitchen and a bathroom which you will have to yourself. You would only share it if maybe we have some family over someday. But there are no visits planned at the moment and we are not expecting anyone. You do your own cooking and shopping. We do like to socialize and we´ll defintely eat and cook together too, but we don´t want to make any promises we can´t keep. If you need a ride to the supermarket (just five minutes by car) that´s no problem. There is also a bus.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Álora is a typical Andalucian white village, but more alive then others. There is a broad choice of restaurants and bars. It´s not overrun with tourist, so you still get a taste of the real Spanish live. We are fairly close (20 minutes by car) to one of the areas biggest attractions, Caminito del Rey. A 2 to 3 hour walk along side cliffs and above the Guadalhorce river. Furthermore there are a lot of hiking trails in the area and the area is popular with cyclists and climbers. Many big cities are within an 2 hour drive. Besides Málaga you can go to Cordoba, Granada, Sevilla or Ronda.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Yes, we work online ourselves too. We could even set you up with a seperate workspace if you would want to.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We do have some space for a van or small motorhome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 951545946375