Artist welcomes help with small DIY home projects in Edinburgh, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 163 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Jenny, an artist living in central Edinburgh and ideally looking for two workaways (couple or two friends) to help with painting, decorating and some gardening.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Even during lockdown Edinburgh is a beautiful city to be in due to the surrounding countryside, amazing volcanic rock (Arthurs Seat) right in the centre of town. It has lots of beautiful outside spaces to visit and just walking around the town, when everything is shut, is amazing, as the Georgian architecture is so beautiful.

    I am an artist and holistic practitioner. I love nature (which inspires my artwork) and although living in town, I love to get to the great outdoors to relax, in my time off. I look forward to introducing you to some of the things I like to do. I am also happy to help you improve your English. I speak a bit of French and Spanish.

    I am interested in sustainability, re-cycling and minimising carbon for print. In my creative work, I work with laser cutting as a drawing medium and you my previous workawayers have enjoyed making something on the laser cutter :)

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for a couple, or two friends, to help with home DIY painting & decorating. There may also be a small amount of joinery. I am a friendly, relaxed. young at heart, host who will welcome you into my home. I am looking for two workawayers to stay for 2 or 3 weeks in April or May. I have loved having workawayers in the past and we have always got on really well (see reviews below). Ideally I am looking for two workawayerss traveling together, as there is quite a lot to do.

    I have just had some building work done to create a big sit-in kitchen, this is one of the rooms that needs painting. I also plan to refresh some of the decor in other rooms: the walls and woodwork. The place I live, was previously just my studio, then I recently moved in and it is now dual purpose. I am looking for help to put some finishing touches to turn it into a home. I have also recently got the use of an outside space, and if there is time, would like to make some up-cycled furniture for this, from pallets and do some gardening.

    I live in a converted Mission Hall , where I also work. I have on-street parking in front of my home for a campervan and have a camper myself :), so if you have a camper and prefer to sleep there, due to Covid, using all the other facilities here, that is OK too. There is plenty of space here to social distance and I can provide you with your own room, with a comfy double blow up mattress and mattress topper to sleep on. There are two toilets, so you will have your own toilet and we will share the shower. We can chat about how to make this work, allowing for COVID and social distancing.

    Wouldn't expect more than 5 hours a day help. I like to do the 25 hours a week over 3 and a half days, so you can then have 3 and a half days off to do other stuff, each week. This gives you plenty of time to explore, as there is so much interesting stuff to see an do in Edinburgh and Scotland.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am not great at foreign languages, but speak a little French and Spanish and am happy to help you improve your English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own, private, small room with a comfy blow up double mattress, underneath a foam mattress topper. ( I will provide a separate single, blow up bed if it's two work away friends). I also welcome workawayers in a camper van, who can park right outside.

    My home has Central Heating, high speed internet, dishwasher, washing machine, cooker, microwave, two toilets, one with a shower, etc and a big sit in kitchen with sofa. We will be sharing these facilities, downstairs, where your room is. I sleep upstairs and have a private studio and kitchenette. It's a large space, so we will be able to maintain social distancing, whilst also having a shared experience.

    All your food is provided and there is a big Tesco just round the corner if you would like to buy anything extra. I am vegetarian and Glutten Free and love cooking. I like to eat and cook together with my workawayers on the days we were working and you can help yourself to food on the days you are not working. It is a non smoking flat, but there is an outside space, with a fire pit, that you can smoke and sit outside in. I am vegetarian, but happy for other people to eat meat :).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I enjoy 5Rhythms dance, film, meditation, astrology, cycling, swimming, walking. I am looking for a couple, or two friends and enjoy independent helpers who I am happy to introduce to my life, but are also happy taking their own initiative on their time off. I love Edinburgh, have lived here for nearly 30 years and can give you lots of local tips & recommendations for things to see and do on your time off.

    I live in Leith, central Edinburgh. It is a quiet relaxed home/studio,10 mins drive (20 mins bus ride, 40 mins walk) to Portobello Beach, a 20 mins walk to Arthurs Seat in the centre of Edinburgh and a 30 min drive (or bus ride) from some beautiful, unspoilt beaches in East Lothian. I live just around the corner from Leith Links, a big open park area. Glasgow is 45 mins away by train and the islands on the west coast are beautiful. There is a bus stop just around the corner and Edinburgh is also an easy city to walk around, without using public transport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a good internet connection and can put a desk in your room to work from. It's a flexible space, so we can discuss anything else that's needed.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park on the street in front of my home/studio. It is a quiet, side street in Leith, central Edinburgh. I also have a camper van :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 948864537785