Help with the projects around our home in judet Arges, Romania

Country

Romania

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    farm in construction

    Hey you ! Do you want to come and spent some nice time in wild Transylvania ? It's a place where the time has stopped and rural life isn't a fake touristic attraction but beautiful hard reality.The environment is a healthy variation of forest and prairies, streams and rivers blooming with (sometimes rare) life. The air is clean, fresh and the night skies are glorious.

    My house and grounds are located in the hills nearby Bradetu village


    *Home
    My home is an eco-friendly straw bale construction. Clay was used for the finishing of the straw walls and interior walls. The floor of the attic was filled with sheep's wool. You will have one big room with spectacular views all around. Sanitation is basic because of no running water. In the house is a dry toilet using sawdust, bath and wash-basin. Inside the house you can find mobile signal out mostly only weak, no wifi connection. The sun gives us enough electricity also for playing loud music while we are working. Let's make a positive and enjoyable atmosphere! :-)



    *Animals
    These days I have the herd of cows, chickens, one pig, three guard fluffy Caucasian shepherd dogs and cats. So anybody who loves animals and doesn't mind getting dirty is welcome.




    *Transport access
    Buses to Bradetu are leaving from city Curtea-de-Arges 30 km far away and the city Pitesti 60 km far away.
    You can walk to Bradetu village, 2 km away. There is a few bars, shops and restaurant in the village.

    *Languages
    My native languages are French and Dutch but I can speak also Romanian and English.

    *Pojects
    Building a Finnish bread oven, making some Entrance Hall in cordwood with vegetal roof...

    If you are looking to be immersed in Romanian countryside life, you are the most welcome to join me for short or longer time. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to ask.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    to know the local rural life I regularly go down to the village to have a drink in the bar and to chat with the villagers, on Sunday I go to the market which is full of life
    for those who are interested in sustainable construction it has been interesting for me for a long time and I can share, I have a lot of work in construction,
    also I worked for years to make cheese in the Swiss alps
    also in the wood bakery I made bread ...............

  • Help

    Help

    *Work
    Hours are flexible, but generally 25 hours per week. Some working days can be longer/shorter, depending on the weather, who is here and what projects we are working on. Sundays are generally free for shopping in the city, sightseeing, relaxing or taking time for yourself, I am happy to discuss your schedule preferences and also I have no problem if you wanna take more free days off for trips around. Except for special current projects I am always glad for help with gardening, making hay, taking care of animals, processing the fruit and vegetable from the garden, helping cooking, preparing wood for the winter or bringing water. The work is mainly situated outside, we are connected to the sun and we are happy about this.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French , Dutch , Romanian and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have one big room with spectacular views all around. Sanitation is basic because of no running water. In the house is a dry toilet using sawdust, bath and wash-basin.
    *Food
    I try to use self-cultivated food as much as it's possible. If you are vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free or diabetes it's no problem to adjust a diet. I am glad if someone can help me and bring a new inspiration into my kitchen. The water from the well is good to drink here, btw.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    *Local Area
    One of the greatest must-see location is the Transfagarasan road crossing Fagaras Mountains between the two highest peaks of Romania Moldoveanu and Negoiu. The road provides you an unforgettable view of natural landscape, the real castle of Vlad the Impaler (Bram Stocckers Dracula) called Poenari, breathtaking huge dam Vidraru or Balea Lake situated in the attitude of 2.042 meters. Next interesting place is undoubtedly old city Curtea-de-Arges with famous Monastery and many others sights. Also, the Stone Ravens Monastery near village Corbi which is built just in the rock. If you like nature and hiking you can find here a lot of trails but be sure, that you are prepared to face and respect a virgin environment where bears, wolves, chamois, lynx and eagles still abound.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 945991379887