Help me to restore my home in a small village near Figeac, France

Country

France

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a 51 year old Irish man living in a small village near Figeac, in Lot, in a house that I am currently restoring. The ultimate aim is to bring a house that is steeped in local history, which has been vacant for 15 years, back to its former glory, whilst making it more sustainable for future generations. The previous owner is happy with all the proposed developments, and excited to see, for the first time, some features that have been hidden for more than 80 years. The village is at the top of the Valle du Cele and surrounded by lots of interesting and beautiful places.

    I am a qualified Building Surveyor, undertaking a lot of the work myself. I need help with skilled and manual jobs.

    There will be opportunities to learn new skills and plenty of time to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The weather here is such that it is difficult to work in the afternoon.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As well as having a significant part of the day to explore the local surroundings, you will have the opportunity to learn about building design and construction, setting out, carpentry skills and problem solving. There will also be the opportunity to gain experience in sourcing vintage furniture.

  • Help

    Help

    I will be hand making doors to replace the original doors from the 1850's, setting out the ground works for a new terrace and pool, removing old plaster and paint, setting out a new system (designed by me) for ducting for services. Refurbishment and restoration of the existing windows to bring them up to modern energy efficiency standards. I will also be sourcing vintage furniture and bathrooms as well as decorating.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house, built in 1857 and modified in 1922, has 6 functional bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. You will have your own bedroom, thought as work progresses, the actual room will need to change as work will be completed on the room you initially have.

    There are 3 dayrooms, so there will be the option for you to have some alone time, if you want. All services are fully functioning, water and electricity, though all will be replaced during the refurbishment, by skilled tradespeople. Internet access will be possible via a hotspot to my 100GB subscription. All food will be provided - 3 meals a day, and snacks. I am a very accomplished chef and can cater for any dietary requirements.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As mentioned in the previous descriptions, the local area has a large number of places of historical and cultural interest to explore all along the Valle du Cele and surrounding areas. Local transport is limited, so a bicycle would make getting around a lot easier. There will be occasions when I can drop/collect you to/from local places of interest. If you are interested in developing your French, join me on my journey, if you are interested in improving your English, I'm more than happy to help with that too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is space to park campervans, but plenty of room in the house too.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I would be open to exploring this option on an individual basis.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 945929458545