Waiheke Island Gardening, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 543 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2019

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four with two boys, aged 7 and 3 years. We live on a rural block of land surrounded by native bush and a Regional Park with many walking tracks. Our land is a peaceful getaway with beautiful sea views, wild peacocks, pheasants, and loads of native bird life. We grow vegetables, have many fruit trees. We eat mostly organic food and follow a vegetarian diet.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The children give our family a foundation for a strong rhythm, with meal times, bath and bed as a daily ritual. We enjoy singing and follow the Ananda Marga Yoga spiritual philosophy. I am passionate about the environment and native ecology while Kamalesh enjoys ancient history themes. We too enjoy meeting people from other countries to learn about their culture.

  • Help

    Help

    Help will mostly be associated with increasing food production. Tasks include plant propagation, planting, mulching, netting trees, harvesting, mowing and of course weeding. The property has much gorse and blackberry so the work can be prickly at times.

    Other odd tasks around the house such as painting, washing windows and general housework.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Can accommodate singles or couples.

    We ask you work four hours a day (in the morning) and assist in general kitchen cleaning duties, in return for food, accommodation and transport to and from the property (including trips to beaches and village shops). We are 20mins drive away from the ferry terminal to Auckland.

    We have a sleep-out for workaway accommodation. This room has no power, with lighting at a minimum, however it is fine to plug in devices to charge inside the main house. Linen and towels provided.
    We have a composting toilet system in the house and are working on creating basic bathroom facilities at the Sleepout.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25






















Host ref number: 945555664965