Experience life on an organic farm and be part of our family in Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 240 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Xaver & Carola and Klara (7 years), Johannes (5 years) & Martin (1 year). We overtook the farm in 2013 from the parents of Xaver and switched from conventional to organic farming. We aim at being good stewards to the land and provide healthy and high quality yield for the people.

    Our farm is a family farm since many generations with a substantial agricultural land area of 100 hectare. It is foremost a professional organization. Being a traditional crop farm we aim to become a diversified farm producing healthy food for people and connect to our neighbourhood.
    We live in simple abundance with preserves from our own land and seasonal, regional (mainly vegetarian) food on the table. We eat 100% biological food. Our chicken provide us with fresh eggs and once in a while with meat.

    Recently we have new animals at our farm: two bunnies live in front of our kitchen door, cute to look at, pleasant to pet and nice to take care of. :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Depending on the season of your stay you will experience farmlife and learn about gardening and plants. We are open to answer all your questions about ecological farming and the growing of crops on the fields. You will be part of our family and see how it is like to live with small kids.
    Xaver and Carola also used to travel a lot before taking over the farm. So, we are open to diferent cultures and happy to invite the world to our house.

  • Help

    Help

    Our helpers have tasks mostly in assisting in the herb- and vegetable gardens and various supportive tasks around the workshop, yard and house, household- and odd-jobs, but also construction- and maintenance-work, work in the forest and assisting in the fields.
    Normally, we try not to work on saturdays and sundays, but in harvesting time there is no weekend for us. Of course that does not include you, but you are always welcome to assist.
    Unfortunatley, we had to add the following note to our profile due to some unpleasant experiences with workawayers: We provide food for you and are happy to share all meals with you. However, we will ask you to help in the kitchen with preparing and cleaning, off working hours.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, Spanish, a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is large enough for our visitors to have their own rooms and bathroom. There is also a small kitchen, even though we use to cook and eat together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ried im Innkreis is the next train station. It is 4 minutes away by car and a 20 Min walk to our farm. Ried is a 12 thousands habitants town, with an old small center; you can find there everything you need.
    Our farm is not located in a touristy region. However, surroundings are hilly and nice for a walk and we have a big garden area where you are welcome to use for relaxing, making fire, camp outside, hang arround, read a book, etc. The small city Ried is a 15-minutes-bikeride away, we have bikes you can borrow. You reach a really amazing mountain-region within 1,5 hours trainride, and Vienna and Munich are less than 3 hours by train away. You reach Salzburg within 1 hour by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Pumpkins are ready to harvest
Building a small greenhouse in 2016 with workawayers
Sunset by our chapel
Our fireplace in the garden
Painting a wall with workawayers
Our vegetable garden
We get our christmas tree from our own forest
Our farm in winter time
The view out of the window of our workawayers room

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 361589128466