Come to the beautiful village of Cowden, south of London and help us with childcare. UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 77 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our family! We have a sweet and fun little boy and live just outside London. I work in London as a Management Consultant and his father, Jonny who is an artist, will be building his sculpture studio and overseeing the build of our stables into additional rooms.

    We recently moved out of London and have settled in the beautiful village of Cowden, south of London on the Kent/Sussex border. It has a station with a direct train to London that is 2 minutes from our house and the train is quite quick at 45 minutes to London Bridge or Victoria. There is also a strong community here with a great pub within walking distance and sports facilities such as tennis, volleyball and cycling.

    We don’t have any pets and I cook most of our meals in our old cottage kitchen. I am passionate about good quality food and bake bread and cakes every week. Life is relaxed and calm here though it can get busy with builders and traders coming and going. There is usually a morning activity in our local community such as singing, baby yoga or other baby groups and we often go for a nice long walk after lunch. In the evenings, we take time to cook, play games, meet friends or we relax in front of the fire with some wine and a good movie. The local pub also have quiz nights and music from local bands.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    English! I am also half German and speak fluent German but we speak English at home. Childcare experience and lots of fun with the little man. If working on the building project then lots of practical skills in how to set up a kiln for firing pottery and building additional rooms with bathrooms plus the garden which is very busy with flowers and vegetables growing.

  • Help

    Help

    Primarily we need help looking after our little boy who is almost 2 years old and we have another baby on the way in July.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room with en-suite bathroom. King size bed and storage chests and rails. You would live with us in the main cottage which also has a large kitchen and sitting room, library corner and utility room. When the stable conversion is complete, there is also an option of moving into their which would afford you more privacy and your own entrance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    London is very close and Brighton is under 1 hour too. There are lots of natural attractions nearby such as stately homes, the Millenium seed bank and the seaside. In the evenings there is a great community in a trypical English pub which is 2 minutes walk away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

this would be your room
December 2019
Host ref number: 938751662876