Help at our project with gardening, fencing and wood chopping at our house with pool in the Dordogne, France

Country

France

Favourited 193 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/01/2021

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Nick and Judy, a couple with grown up children and we live in the South of the Dordogne area, situated between 3 beautiful old bastide towns. Our nearest town is Bergerac. The property is the remains of a 17th Century hamlet. There are 3 houses, two barns and a swimming pool. The grounds consist of 26 acres – woodland, meadow, vegetable patch, walnut grove and a small lake. We moved here from London 10 years ago and during that time have restored the 3 houses, installed photovoltaic panels and put in eco-friendly sanitation systems including a reedbed. We have a dog, cat, some sheep, kune kune pigs, ducks and chickens.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Potential projects for this year include:
    •wood clearance and management -the aim being to be self sufficient in firewood but also to gain access to woodland that has not been managed for about 50 years
    •stone wall repair/maintenance
    •plant propagating
    •fruit and veg growing, harvesting and preserving


    We find it best to work with couples or groups of friends rather than with a workawayer travelling on their own.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation would be on the first floor of the main house (two large double bedrooms with en suite bathrooms) plus two single rooms in the pigeonnier.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Life here is never boring and is characterised by good food, good wine, good company and lots of sunshine – at least for March through to November .
    We welcome anyone who feels they can contribute to the projects we have in hand either by offering muscle power, relevant knowledge and experience or simply a willingness to muck in. French or English lessons can be offered in return.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4















Host ref number: 938421852378