Help on a seabuckthorn fruit farm near Sherbrooke, Quebec



Favourited 131 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    My name is Dominic and I am a geography-history teacher. I have been in couple with Nathalie for the last 30 years. We are in our mid fiftys and we raised two children that have since gone from the family nest! We have two cats. We are open minded, we have traveled around the world and we like to have a good time. We have a seabuckthorn fruit farm. During the summer months (July, August and September) tourists come here to discover this super-fruit (many many vitamins) and they can also handpick some fruits directly in the orchard.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are francophones but we speak good English. Learning or perfecting french and/or english is certainly inevitable! Besides that, you will familiarise with different aspects of farming and dealing with customers here at the farm or at the market.

  • Help


    We have lots of different tasks to be done during the summer like responding to costumers that come to our boutique here on the farm, or mowing the lawn in the orchard, or taking care of different animals. It can also be helping with the harvest or painting or chopping wood or helping in the transformation kitchen! In other words the help required is very diversified. On Saturday mornings, from 9 to 1, we are at a marketplace nearby. We offer room and meals (and unlimited wifi) in exchange of average 5 hours work per day, but this is flexible since sometimes, on a nice day, work can be longer and there can be less to do on a rainy day...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Our large house can accomodate three or four extra persons. Upstairs we have two rooms with double beds. Another room, adjacent to the living room, also has a double bed and lots of windows facing south. Nathalie always prepares excellent meals but if you like cooking, feel free to take control of the kitchen!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in the beautiful Eastern Townships. This is an hour drive from Montreal, two and a half hours from Quebec city and 7 hours bus or train from New York City or Toronto. Otherwise, we are between Granby and Sherbrooke, the two main cities where we have to go once in a while... There are many parks and lakes all around and bicycle paths. We have bicycles you can use. We can drive you to the bus station, we can arrange for lifts and some contacts and we can give you hints in preparing your trip in the region or to the rest of the continent!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 469349419867