Stay with our homeschooling family on Bornholm, Denmark

  • Favourited 39 times
  • Last activity: 24 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Floor (36)
    Mjolnir (6)
    And a petit baby girl :)

    Vfter traveling the world for many years, i decided to move in Bornholm.
    In January 2023 I purchased an old farmhouse with 2 hectares of land.
    We are Dutch and moved to Bornholm for a more quiet life, with more freedom around education.

    Currently I am renovating the house to make it liveable for my family. The house is now nearly finished on the inside. But there is still lots to do around the house, sheds and garden.

    My son is 6 and my daughter is just a few months old. I take care of them by myself which is quite though at times. My son is very lively, and he loves having people around for new input.

    I like to be outdoors with the kids, and we often meet with other homeschooling (international) families.

    I want to create a bigger project here. Though I am not entirely sure yet of what and how.
    I would love for there to be one or two more families living here.
    Creating a food forest is also a dream.

    When I am ready to work again, I would like to continue my massage practice that I had for some years.

    Even though I enjoy having visitors, I do really need my own space and privacy.
    That means that I am mostly quite busy with the kids and do not always have the space and energy to engage socially. It is therefore important that you are independent.
    It also means that I might not be able to share all meals. For example I eat dinner quite early with the kids (17.00), and understand if that this is too early for most people.

    Another important point is that I am quite senstive to radiation (From the phone/data/internet), and do not want it close to me or the kids. I generally have my phone switched off and only turn it on if I need to.
    I kindly would ask you to respect this within the house. Outside is a different story.

    Please no smoking, alcohol or drugs on the property.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Explore the island of Bornholm (beautiful beaches, nice forests, a few cute small towns)
    Enjoy the quiet lifestyle (at least, we do :))
    Learn Dutch (we mostly speak Dutch as a family)
    Share life stories

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    This spring and summer (2024) I would really like to focus on making the garden and space around the house feel nice and inviting. There is work to be done around the fruit trees.

    Building a chicken coop and greenhouse are also planned for this year (hopefully! ;)

    There is a lot to be done in and around the house and sheds.

    But, I would already be really happy with a hand in daily life already; cooking meals, cleaning, helping out with the children, help in the garden.

    For those with handy hands, there is plenty to do (breaking down things, repairing parts of building, painting).
    Creating outdoor kitchen and lounge area (for visitors, volunteers).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    My son needs to learn Danish, and improve his English. I am interested in learning Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guestroom in the house.
    Or welcome to bring your own tent or caravan/camper.

    I was supposed to have glamping tents this year. Unfortunately, the company I ordered with online seems to be fraudulous, and the money is now lost. Hoping to get this resolved. For now, it means now glamping tents...

    From June onwards, I will sleep in a tent in the garden with the kids. I actually really enjoy sleeping outside. And this way, there are 2 bedrooms available in the house. One of the rooms is actually my sons room with all his toys. So during the day he might want to play there or have access to his belongings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sorry, but no smoking of any kind, alcohol or playing videogames.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I would be open to this idea. Just at the moment I do not have an office space ready yet, and, I do not have WIFI.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The parking area is big enough for a campervan.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3/4 hours per day, 5 days/week

Host ref number: 936995759137

Feedback

House and petsitting and help in the garden on Funen archipelago, Denmark
Help on our projects around the house in Fyn, Denmark