Help decorate and repair an old Victorian house in Southwold, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/09/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    265

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am decorating and repairing an old Victorian house which has been sadly neglected over the decades, in order to run it as a Bed & Breakfast or rental. I wish to grow vegetables in the garden using organic and/or permaculture methods. I love to share the beautiful place in which I am fortunate to live - Southwold is renowned for being a picturesque seaside town, much changed now from its fishing days, and is highly desirable for holidays both in and out of the season.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an extensive area of outstanding natural beauty with walks in managed woodlands, wetland marshes, nature reserves, beaches and National Trust heathland. Southwold is a great holiday venue too with plentiful cafes, opportunities for dining out. If you enjoy outdoor activities such as walking or bird watching, there is plenty to explore here.

    My interests are quite varied and include textile art and felting, philosophy and history, Human Design and astrology, creativity as a way of living spontaneously, metaphysics, Law of Attraction, consciousness/awareness, healing. I love to sit around a fire - I have an open fire in my living room - with friends for a good discussion. I am open minded and willing to listen and learn from others especially those from a very different cultural background to my own.

  • Help

    Help

    General household maintenance skills including plaster repair, painting, decorating, and gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be staying in a room on the 2nd floor of a large old Victorian house with sea views from the bedroom windows with a comfortable double bed, private bathroom with bath, basin and loo (sorry no shower). In the colder months, there is usually an open fire to enjoy in the living room. Food arrangements are very flexible depending on your requirements. I don't usually cook vegetarian meals, but I can provide options for you to self-cater or shared meals using mostly local produce.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live quietly enjoying the peace of the locality. Southwold is usually a busy thriving town in the summer season with people almost queueing to get into the town! In the winter months it is much quieter but equally attractive with its pier, local Adnams pubs, excellent food and long empty beaches.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 932757286966