One volunteer welcome at our small acreage on the west coast in Comox Valley, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/07/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    369

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Suitable for solo visitor only (1 person).
    Lots to do on our rural, small acreage, on mid-Vancouver Island. Our summer 'to do' list includes: outdoor house maintenance and small construction projects, landscaping, as well as regular household and garden tasks. We have 2 cats that rule the roost, and a lodgers black lab.
    Host is >60 woman.
    Absolutely no smoking on the property!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Host has a diverse background of overseas work and travels.
    Self built home approx 30 yrs ago.... There are always carpentry/reno projects on the go.
    The Comox Valley has much to offer. The Valley includes the towns of Courtenay, Comox, Cumberland, and the rural areas of Fanny Bay, Union Bay, Royston, Merville and Black Creek. We are close to Mount Washington for skiing or hiking. We live down the rd from a beautiful beach, and a multitude of forest trails. We have a fabulous year round Farmers Market and a multitude of music and arts festivals.

  • Help

    Help

    Depends on the volunteer and how physical they want to be, inc:
    - organic vegetable and flower gardening
    - carpentry
    - painting
    - general household chores
    - opportunity for cooking

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Indonesian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom with double bed.
    Own bathroom.
    Wifi
    Share of big, post and beam, self built house.
    Use of pool.
    Property is rural. Pick up in Courtenay, or on the bus route on the Island Hwy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 10-15 minutes drive North of Courtenay.
    It is 3k from the nearest bus stop.
    Bicycle available.
    Beautiful beach close to home as well as many hiking/biking/horse trails.
    Fabulous rural neighbourhood.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 928165849258