Help out a family with young children, surrounded by gorgeous Kootenay mountains in Nelson, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 9 times
  • Last activity: 31 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are a family of four with two wonderful boys ages 9 and 4.

    We live on an acreage with a kitchen garden and lots of trees around our home.

    Our boys are currently Waldorf based homeschoolers and spend lots of time playing outdoors.

    We live a natural, organic lifestyle, do arts and crafts, play music and love to dance and do yoga.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the beautiful kootenay mountain region, just outside of the picturesque town of Nelson BC. We are surrounded by green mountains and minutes from the large and clear waters of kootenay lake.

    We love cooking healthy and yummy food!

    We can offer an opportunity to learn about gardening, cooking and being with children. I am a Massage Therapist and my husband Gabriel is a Counsellor and Life Coach.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for help with childcare, cooking and some housekeeping and gardening. We would also welcome crafts and games with the kiddos, music and singing. You would help out 4-5 hours a day, 5 days per week in exchange for accommodation and wholesome/organic meals. If you speak another language we would love for our boys to learn from you!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You would have your own lovely bedroom and share the kitchen and a bathroom in our house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many gorgeous hikes here by crystal clear creeks, paddling on Kootenay lake and all to that the vibrant town of Nelson BC has to offer. Our home is 10 minute drive to downtown Nelson. There's also bus service to Nelson a 10 minute walk from our house.

    There are many beautiful beaches and hikes with walking distance of our house!

    We love yummy and healthy food.

    We are very child oriented and evenings are generally quiet around our house. We ask that only natural body care and cleaning products are used in our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 741233911266



Help with our home renovation projects and we'll teach you how to sail on Galiano Island, Canada
Hippies, primitivists and lumberjacks welcome at our homestead in Cape Breton, Canada