Join our very English life, be part of the community of a small village and help around the house with child care and languages near Kings Lynn, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/06/2019

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living in a historic country house in Norfolk, England. We are a married couple (both in our early 50's) with two children (boy aged 9 and girl aged 10) and two dogs, a Jack Russell terrier and an English Bull Terrier. My husband works for a national renewables company and is frequently away from home working. I am developing my own business (importing clothing and accessories from India) which means that I am mostly working from home. The children are educated in a small private school nearby. We have a large (5 acre) garden and live next to the river Great Ouse.

    Both of us are Oxbridge educated and have travelled the world extensively, including having worked away from home, so we are well versed with sharing our lives with varied cultures and we are really keen to share this approach to life with our children. We are a spiritual family, but we have no strong ties with any particular religious practice, but we are open to learning about the religious and cultural lives of others with open minds. Ours is a non smoking home and I do not drink alcohol, my husband drinks very little, so while we are fine with alcohol consumption there is no possibility of drinking large amounts of alcohol in our home.

    We live in a small rural village, but we are near to towns and it is approximately 1 1/2 hours to London on the train. We do have spare vehicles available for use of our workaway visitors, both for helping with family chores and also for use in your spare time. It is important to be aware that as our house is very old, it is undergoing constant renovation - but the accommodation provided to our workaway guest is beautifully and fully renovated and comes with its own bathing facilities, tv, and tea and coffee making facilities in room. Of course, you would have 24 hour access to the kitchen as well. We provide unlimited wi fi useage and have Netflix and Amazon TV in addition to regular freeview channels. My husband is a former art dealer, so the house is full of beautiful paintings and antiques, including in the room that would be yours.

    The area we live in is close to the sea to the north, near to the Queen's house at Sandringham, Newmarket for horse racing, and Cambridge, which is a beautiful university town. The house itself is in a very peaceful and relaxing location but a short drive to larger towns.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a historic home, full of English and European antiques and with a well stocked library. We live a very English life, being part of the community of a small village, but with frequent trips to larger towns and cities. We are keen to encourage our visitor to make the most of the historic and contemporary culture of Britain and are happy to advise and recommend where to go and what to see. We attend concerts, exhibitions and shows as a family and are happy to take our visitor along with us, as well as cinema and day trips. We do endevour to live a constantly learning approach to life and our visitor would be welcome to join us in this as much or as little as they wish.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a mature and responsible person to help around the house, light housework, child care and to help with the dogs, pick up shopping etc. Generally, we are envisaging our guest helping out during the week and having weekends off (but of course, you would still be welcome to join in family activities at the weekend, sometimes away from our area as well). It would be very much appreciated if our guest could help our children with their language studies, particularly Spanish and Mandarin, but we are open to other languages too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    My husband speaks French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own large bedroom with superking bed, high quality egyptian cotton sheets, own bathing facilities in room, TV, sofa, central heating, overlooking the gardens or the river. We have decent mobile phone coverage for some, but not all networks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There will be a vehicle available to drive (you would need only to pay the amount to be added to my insurance for the sports car) - either a Land Rover Freelander (mostly when driving the children, dogs or going shopping) but also a BMW convertable sports car which would be available, with prior arrangement for your own use in your spare time. I would ask that you make contributions for petrol when using the car in your spare time, and bear in mind that it is expensive to buy in the UK.

    Although our house is on the edge of a small and quiet village (there is a post office, pub and a couple of shops) we are on the main line rail line to London and Norwich and Cambridge are nearby. There is, as you will imagine, so much to see In Cambridge for anyone interested in English culture and history, as well as a vibrant night life. Our area is full of historic attractions and is not far from the most wonderful beaches (excellent for walking the dogs) and many of England's finest historic stately homes. It is possible to access educational opportunities in our closest town, Kings Lynn as well as in Cambridge. We are in the western side of Norfolk, near the borders with Cambridgeshire and Lincolnshire.

    I am a former professional dressage and event rider, so should our visitor be interested in horses, I do attend many of the local, large equestrian events. My husband is a former top level rower, so that might be a potential shared interest too and there are plenty of opportunities to take part in this and a number of other local sports through local clubs and societies. I attend the local gym and membership would be open to our visitor too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 925461219848