Help us on a small farm in the north west of Östergötland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/07/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We run a small farm in the north west of Östergötland, Sweden. We aim to be self sufficient in vegetables, fruit, meat, egg, honey and wood for heating the house.

    Right now we are working with preparing the garden for this season of growing. Accept digging and manure, we´re starting to build a better rain water collection system for watering the vegetables during the summer. This summer the main project is to paint our house, and renovate the windows and doors with old methods. During the summer and in the autumn we harvest and take care of the vegtebles, fruits and berries in different ways. Last year we built an earth cellar, were we store most of them. We also have bees, so taking care of them and the honey is part of the weekly work from spring to autumn. For eggs and meat we have hens who´s walking free in the garden. Earlier we also had pigs, but now we only have some rabbits for meat.

    Who are we? Isabelle, Micke, and our two children 3 and 1 year.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have kowledge in a lot of different handicrafts wich we love to share with others. Isabelle work as an artist. Micke likes working with wood. For us it´s important to live with small environmental impacts, and to give this way of living to our children. Were also interested in discussing political matters and how society works.

  • Help

    Help

    Daily care in the vegtable garden, help with building/renovating projects, taking care of the animals, collecting hay for the animals, chopping wood, maintanence of the bee hives and collecting honey, fencing. You don´t need to have experience of anything of this, but we expect you to be interested in learning new things.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, english and a little spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house has a normal standard with running water and electricity.
    We have built our own drainsystem with a "rotzon" and compost toilet.
    You can sleep in an own room inside the house. It has two beds. You prepare the food and eat together with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Close by the farm is several beutiful lakes where you can go bathing and fishing. We have bicycles to borrow. You can also go by bus to Finspång, wich is a small town 25 km from us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our house at sundown.
Isabelle with red cabbage.
The vegitable garden in early summer.
Isabelle renovating the woodchack.
The chickens in november.
Micke with some tasty kale for lunch.
Harvesting pumpkins last year.

Host ref number: 922392125628