Help out on our family sheep farm and with our children in Tuscany, Italy



Favourited 67 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    Hi, we are Massi (1980), Robin (1984) and our four children Jonah (2005), Kaya (2011), Kilian (2013) and Timo (2016).
    We have a sheep breeding in the hills between Florence (20 km) and Arezzo (40 km).
    We milk and transform the milk to delicious Pecorino cheese. We also have pigs, rabbits, chicken, pigeons, cats and dogs. We cultivate a vegetable garden and try to live from our own products as much as possible. We like to cook excellent Tuscany dishes (no Vegan) and stay together with our friends.
    We speak Italian and German.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning languages, making cheese, cooking, working with animals and farming and living with a big family and friends.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need help in the stables, fence constructions, cheese production, firewood cutting, chipping and construction works on our house (carpentering, plumbing and electricity work). It would be also nice, if you'll spent some time with our children.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Camper or tent

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    there are two railway stations nearby (Incisa val d'arno and Rignano sull'arno) and 1 km from the house there is a bus stop to go to Forence and Arezzo.

    Duomo di Firenze is the city of Florence's beautiful cathedral, the symbol of the city. Brunelleschi's huge dome was an engineering feat of the rennaissance. A statue of Brunelleschi is sited in the piazza, with his figure looking upwards towards his dome. It is possible to climb the Dome (entrance on the side of the church), which has 464 steps curving at the top of the dome.

    In all, Florence has something over 80 museums. Among those at the top of most lists are the City hall, the Palazzo della Signoria (aka Palazzo Vecchio), a wonderful building with magnificent rooms and some great art; the Archeological Museum, the Museum of the History of Science, the Palazzo Davanzatti, the Stibbert Museum, St. Marks, the Medici Chapels, the Museum of the Works of Santa Croce, the Museum of the Cloister of Santa Maria Novella, the Zoological Museum ("La Specola"), the Bardini, and the Museo Horne. There is also a wonderful collection of works by the modern sculptor, Marino Marini, in a museum named after him. If you are interested in photography, you should not miss the superb collection of works by the early photographers, the Alinari brothers. The magnificent Strozzi Palace is the site of many special exhibits.
    To get a great overview of the city, you have plenty of choices: climb the dome of the Cathdral or Giotto's Bell Tower which is much easier or head for Piazzale Michelangelo a large parking lot on the hillside just south of the center of town, or climb a bit further to the church of San Miniato al Monte, a sublime 11th century masterpiece, with superb Renaissance sculptures. At vespers, the monks add to the beauty with chants.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 982491855819