Help us in a a small farm in the Ardennes, Belgium

Country

Belgium

updated  

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with 3 children (8 years old, 6 years old and 4 years old). I am an independent carpenter and Manu, my partner, is a teacher. In addition to our trades, for 3 years, we have had a small farm. There are a few cows, sheep, pigs and chickens. We cultivate 20 ares of potatoes and cereals and make a few hectares of hay. Recently, there is a plantation of 300 blueberry trees and an orchard. We also have a vegetable garden and a greenhouse. We practice peasant, organic agriculture and we sell our products in a short circuit.


    Nous sommes une famille avec 3 enfants (8 ans, 6 ans et 4 ans). Je suis menuisier indépendant et Manu, ma compagne, est institutrice. En plus de nos métiers, depuis 3 ans, nous avons une petite ferme. Il y a quelques vaches, moutons, cochons et des poules. Nous cultivons 20 ares de pommes de terre et de céréales et faisons quelques hectares de foin. Depuis peu, il y a une plantation de 300 myrtilliers et un verger. Nous avons également un potager et une serre. Nous pratiquons une agriculture paysanne, bio et nous écoulons nos produits en circuit court.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are also lovers of travel. We have already visited some European countries, made wwoofing in Australia and New Zealand and lived in Madagascar for 2 years. Now, we want to continue the meetings but welcoming travelers to us. The setting is ideal for lovers of peace and nature, in the heart of the Ardennes. We live in a small village of 50 inhabitants, in an old renovated farmhouse, where there is no traffic. The walks are not lacking, the descent of the Semois Kayaking is 15min and the tourist sites are numerous in the region.

    Nous sommes aussi des amoureux du voyage. Nous avons déjà visité quelques pays d'Europe, fait du wwoofing en Australie et Nouvelle-Zélande et vécu 2 ans à Madagascar. Maintenant , nous voulons continuer les rencontres mais en accueillant les voyageurs chez nous. Le cadre est idéal pour les amoureux de calme et de nature, en plein cœur de l'Ardenne. Nous habitons dans un petit village de 50 habitants, dans une vieille ferme rénovée, où il n'y a pas de circulation. Les balades ne manque pas, la descente de la Semois en Kayak est à 15min et les sites touristiques sont nombreux dans la région.

  • Help

    Help

    There are many tasks on the farm and they vary with the seasons. We need help with the maintenance and harvesting of the crops and the vegetable garden. We also need a hand with the haymaking because we make a lot of small bales of hay. Sometimes you have to take care of the animals.
    In addition, we are gradually renovating the buildings of the farm so there is always a little construction work.

    Il y a de multiples travaux à la ferme et ils varient au fil des saisons. Nous avons besoin d'aide pour l'entretien et les récoltes des cultures et du potager.Nous avons aussi besoin de coups de main pour la fenaison car nous faisons pas mal de petits ballots de foin. Il faut parfois s'occuper des animaux.
    De plus, nous rénovons petit à petit les batiments de la ferme donc il y a toujours un peu des travaux de construction.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a caravan with 2 beds ( a double bed and a single bed), placed between the vegetable garden and the stable, from where there is a beautiful view over the valley. For the moment, the kitchen, toilet and shower are in our house but from June 2021, there will be a shelter near the caravan with all these amenities.

    Il y a une caravane avec 2 lits (un lit double et un lit d'une personne), placée entre le potager et l'étable, d'où il y a une belle vue sur la vallée. Pour le moment, cuisine, wc et douche sont dans notre maison mais à partir de juin 2021, il y aura un abris près de la caravane avec toutes ces comoditées.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.





Host ref number: 919151997479