Looking for some help with the children, come and join our family in Granada, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 28 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We're a young family living in the centre of Granada! Our daughter is 2 and a half years and we have a lively and affectionate cat, Nika. Our flat has 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 2 living rooms and a fully equipped kitchen, so you'd have plenty of space and everything you need! In the winter we have central heat and there's AC in the living room for the hot summer months. We're located smack dab in the city centre in a neighbourhood called Realejo, with supermarkets and shops just 5 minutes on foot and a great path for walking/running/biking next to the Genil River.

    We're looking for someone with experience in childcare and who also enjoys cooking to help a bit around the house. I'm currently studying a degree in Primay Education and work part-time, and my partner works full time at his own accounting firm, so needless to say we're always busy! And more than just an au pair/nanny, we want someone who will form part of our family- who would like to eat meals together, watch films, go to cultural events, day trips....

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak English but my partner Jose speaks Spanish, so you'll be able to learn, practice or brush up on the language in the home. We also love enjoying the city we live in, so we're open to showing you the best tapas restaurants, hiking trails, nearby towns and cultural events. Jose loves showing newcomers the city and explaining the history and importance of people and places, I swear if he weren't an accountant he would have been a great tour guide!
    The neighbourhood we live in is steeped with history and culture, and the city of Granada is located just a 40 minute bus ride from the mountains for skiing and 30 minutes to the beaches. There are also numerous schools to learn Spanish if you're interested in doing a formal course at the same time, which could easily be adapted to our schedule.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for someone experienced in childcare to look after our daughter, who is 2.5 years old, in the afternoons a few days a week while we both work and I study. The ideal person will like children, and moreover, babies and be patient, responsible, but also creative and energetic to keep up with Khloe as she grows and learns. Ideally, this person will also enjoy cooking and would be willing to pitch in with preparing lunches a few days a week. We eat a mostly mediterranean diet with little processed and packaged foods, and we love trying different flavours and dishes to creativity in the kitchen is a plus!
    The exact timetable will be determined once we're in touch with a potential au pair and their skills are discuss, but generally monday-thursday afternoons and maybe some mornings. We've got some flexibility to work with. Ideally we're looking for someone who's available from February until May.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be staying in one of 4 bedrooms equipped with a wardrobe, bed, desk, fan and lamp as well as a private, individual bathroom. Since we're looking for someone who's also willing to pitch in with cooking duties, if that's the case then we will provide the food for all the meals and the person will prepare lunches 3-4 times a week. However, if you prefer to only cook for yourself, that can also be arranged but we will not cover the cost of all your meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your freetime Granada is an incredible city to explore, with nearby mountain towns and beaches. There are tons of activities in the afternoons, and if you do sport we live close by the riveer which is an excellent spot to go running or cycling. Granada is know for the Alhambra, the Albayzin neighbourhood and the Realejo (where we live) and there's always music an art events happening at different times of the year.

    We're a calm family, who work a lot, but love to go out for tapas and coffee, showing off the coolest places and checking out new ones. We don't smoke and won't accept smokers in the flat. We like entertaining friends, although honestly with the baby it's been more difficult than before! Our schedules are usually booked Monday-Friday but we take advantage of the weekends to go out for lunch, walk around, take a day trip somewhere... there's never a dull moment in Granada

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Tuesday, Thursday and Friday 8:30-2:30, perhaps 1-2 hours either Monday or Wednesday morning


Host ref number: 917793843417