1 / 5

Help us become sustainable in Garden Bay, BC, Canada

  • Favourited 90 times
  • Last activity: 15 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hi! We're Kate and Andrew, and we're in year 2 of building a community permaculture project in Garden Bay, BC. We live on the ocean about three hours North of Vancouver, are both in our early 30s, and work 9-5 jobs over Zoom and sometimes in the city. When we're not working, we love being outside.

    In 2022 we are growing a variety of tomatoes, peppers, beans, pumpkin, squash, and a variety of lettuces and herbs. We are also growing blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, lingonberries, black currents, Saskatoon berries, gojiberries, huckleberries, elderberries, apples, cherries, hazelnuts, and figs, but these will likely not be fruit producing this year.

    When visitors stay at , we typically work 8-1 Friday - Tuesday, with the rest of the time open to adventure and explore. On work days we eat breakfast together at 7:15, and typically spend the evenings cooking and trading stories together.

    If you’re interested in staying, please reach out! We’d love to get to know each other and see if there is a fit.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're both avid cooks and spend out leisure time outdoors - hiking, biking, and paddling. We live on the ocean on a protected bay, where you can sit on the deck and watch seals, eagles, kingfishers, and sometimes dolphins. There are dozens of beautiful hikes and mountain biking trails minutes from the place, and you can also go kayaking in the ocean or at one of the many local lakes. We also have a dog, Sheamus, a middle aged schnauzer mutt.

    From us you can learn: English, French, cooking (especially BBQ, smoking, bread and other baking), gardening, and all about the region. Kate is also an amateur astronomer, so happy to show you the telescope and take photos of the stars with you.

    We’re looking for guests that are looking to be an active part of our family, for a couple of days to a couple of months.

  • Help


    In the summer we're looking for work on the garden - planting, weeding, watering, harvesting, and helping choose what we plant and develop on our property next. 2022 is our first year producing vegetables, and we expect our production to increase over the next 3-5 years. We are looking for people with an interest or experience in gardening, landscaping and carpentry.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Would love to practice Spanish or French!

  • Accommodation


    We live in a four bedroom, three bathroom house, and can accommodate up to six guests at a time. We have fast WiFi, laundry, a fireplace, and all of the amenities you’d expect.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have guest kayaks, bikes, paddle board, a sauna, and lots of space to lounge outside. LGBTQ friendly.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have excellent WiFi and a dedicated bedroom with a desk and quiet space.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can fit a small to midsized campervan (RVs or motorhomes likely can't get down our road).

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 917377669145

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)