Come and join this community which is a wonderful mix of farmers and artists in Toronto, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 91 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an artistic family who lives in Toronto and has a small farm 2 hours East of the city near Warkworth, Ontario.

    The farm is where the workaway will take place. Once a working dairy farm, the buildings on the property are slowly being turned into art studios. The first is a letterpress printing studio in the old milk room. A painting studio has been roughed in to the grain shed.

    There are lots of projects to work on, from ripping out the existing kitchen in the farmhouse to cleaning old wood and farm machinery from barns. There are less strenuous projects, too—tree trimming, lawn mowing, various gardening.

    The farm is situated in a picturesque area of rural Ontario. The closest town in Warkworth which despite its small size, has a vibrant arts community, horseback riding, camping and more.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The property is a fine example of 1920-1930s Ontario rural property. The community is a wonderful mix of farmers and artists. There is a rodeo in the fall where you can experience the traditions of the area, farmers markets for fresh produce and a studio tour for the local art scene. For the right candidate, the access to a print studio with a 1920s C&P platen press with cases of lead type might be a dream come true. Even for someone new to printmaking, this could be an opportunity to see how books were made a century ago!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for anyone with an interest in stone / masonry work, general renovation (minor plumbing, minor electrical, framing, drywall, etc.) or just carrying bundles of junk out of barns! An interest in the arts would be a bonus. Especially printmaking or drawing and painting.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The farmhouse has three bedrooms which each include a bed, dresser and window. It is a little rough around the edges but comfortable. The house is warm and dry and for this reason, we share the house with mice. So any allergies to mice or dust might be an issue. There is a bathroom with shower and a large kitchen which needs to be renovated. Meals would be provided and special dietary restrictions can be accommodated. I.e. Vegan, gluten-free, paleo, allergies, etc. One of us would be at the farm with the "workawayers". There may be an opportunity for "workawayers" to stay at the farm alone for a weekend if interested. While a car would make exploring the area easier, we could pick up at a local train station and drives into town as scheduling permits.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Warkworth, the closest village, is 5 kms away. This is about an hour walk in nice weather. Most travel would require a car or bicycle. The road is gravel but we see road bikes touring past occasionally. This would be an ideal spot for someone looking to disconnect from city living and technology in general. There is no telephone or internet at the farm. We use our cell phone for calling and data. The library in Warkworth has 24 hr wireless internet if needed.
    We like to work hard when necessary and relax and enjoy the amazing scenery (when there is no moon you can see billions of stars!) as often as possible. We appreciate others who feel the same.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Our farm has lots of room for campervans! There is no hook-up for electricity beyond an extension cord. The driveway is long enough to have a campervan parked or, if you don't mind sharing a field with a horse, there is lots of room up on the hill...

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We are a pet-friendly farm. There is one ornery horse on the property. If you bring a dog that is not familiar with horses you may want them to keep their distance. But Abby only kicks when she feels threatened... Which is very rare.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 916581968147