See where the milk comes from and find out things around the farm near Liege, Belgium

Country

Belgium

updated   Last minute

Favourited 497 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    96  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    105

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Due to a cancelation, we have a free place for 1 or 2 volunteers from Wednesday on to 3.10.
    Is someone interested in a farm stay? At harvest time?

    We search a nice couple or friends for October and November, also short-time stays, who would like to help us with some tasks, in the garden, and around the house. Harvesting, weeding, planting, a bit of maintenance and painting, help with the guest, perhaps cooking or baking. Knowledge with the computer will be great. I need someone, who can connect my phone with the computer and install a printer...
    ---------------------
    In the east of Belgium 2,5km from the border of Germany, you will find our farm. It is placed in a small village with nearly none public transport – especially at the weekends.
    Within bikes reach you can find shops for almost everything, a cinema, swimming pool with a small sauna and fitness – if you are interested in such things. Nature is nearer – that you can find when you step outside!
    Since 2010 the farm is completely biological – we produce milk, but also meet – where it starts to get a bit more complicated in the minds of the people today.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Everything about gardening, growing own seeds, preserving the harvest, farming on an non acer farm - we have horses, cows, sheep and chicken. Ride horses or enjoy the nature.

  • Help

    Help

    A word to volunteering times: We have no exact times, and everything depends on your will and skills. That means: If you are interested in helping milking – you are welcome. If you would like to cook or bake – why not? If you are the one for gardening? Or you are a creative soul and find you a project here? We will not stop you, you are welcome at any time at every work.
    In the morning Walter and I start early with milking, and our braekfast ist around 8:30, so that is the time we make the timetable for the day. We found out that it is the best way to bring someone fast in, when he is working with one of us first. So, if you know what scill you have, you can decide, what you want to do. And belive me, you could manage more as you think at the moment!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, german, french(not written).

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer you a guestroom and also a place at our table. Delicious food fresh from the garden and stabels included!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are no vegetarians and if you are, this is NOT the right place with us. We are christs, we practise our religion more or less, we eat sometimes pork – but also other things ;-) We have no problem with other religions or people, if they could acept us like we are.
    But one good vegetarian dish in the week is welcome, and salad is normaly on the table.

    No vegans, no diets (gluten free, lactose free, low carb...) - also no Paleo. Thank you for the understanding.

    Our farm is our home and our work at one place - so we would like you to be careful and thinkful with all things - animals, plants and also humans here. It is no "ideological projekt" financed by work at other places but real farmwork, we and all that live with us (including our animals!), depends on it!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum

"Steinley Venn"
Part of the national Park "Plattes Venn"
Our region is wonderfull - as long as you like nature!
Thats a part of the border between Germany and Belgium!
Agatha and Mrs Marple
When changing pastures, all cows walk in a line.
Some of our horses.
As long as we milk outside, all volunteers milk with us. And belive us, nobody is long affraid of cows - they are so calm and friendly.
Bedtime at the piggies, everyone would liek to hear a bedtime storry and have a last rubb...
We are realy serious! Allways!
Milking time! The ladies are waiting for "cow service" and a little chat with us.
Our big garden - we don't only live from it with all fruits, vegis and flowers, we also harvest seeds.
2010, august

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
































































Host ref number: 915881512568