Join our family and horse coaching & yoga farm in the Ardennes, Belgium




Favourited 918 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 35 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Looking urgently for someone with a European drivers licence and above 21 to help us out on a road trip for 4 days, last week of February, so next week ;) - if you are available do not hesitate to contact us immediately. We leave the 24th early morning, so arrival at our place on the 23rd will be necessary. We end the road trip on the 28th, staying after that can be possible depending on your experience

    We live at a farm where we propose the following services to our customers :
    a post-graduate training "how to become a horse-coach", eq. how to coach people with the help of horses, horse coaching (coaching of people with the help of the horses), different well-being activities with or without horses, weekly yoga classes, massage classes, a massage practice with therapeutic massages, shiatsu and reflexology.

    We are a family of 5, our eldest son is 20,the one in the middle is 16 and our daughter of 13. We love animals, have 2 dogs and 4 cats living in the house and outside we have 8 horses 🐴 and chickens.

    We are a busy family. We like to enjoy life and work hard. We respect all life whether it's human or not.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    What can you learn ?
    gardening (we started our permaculture garden and are exploring this technique)
    yoga (do-in and yin yoga)
    how horses help during a coaching session

    We speak Dutch/Flamish, French & English.
    We cook all organic, we're flexitarians (eat veggie, meat & fish), we try to cultivate (in the season) our own vegetables or buy them local
    we are a big family, our kids all play music

    ALL Yoga classes (taught in French) are open to all our volunteers ,

    when human-shiatsu classes are on, volunteers can participate as well (french only during class)
    (NO participation in one on one shiatsu or yoga therapy or private coaching sessions with clients!)

  • Help


    We are looking for work-a-wayers all year round, the help changes from season to season.

    In general :

    The daily tasks are :
    cleaning the horse paddocks and stables
    feeding and providing water to all the animals
    help in and around the house with daily chores
    cleaning the small animal housing (monthly routine)

    in spring & summer : gardening

    Everything depends on your capabilities :)

    If you have good experience with horses, a soft but steady hand, you can help train them (on the ground, riding,.....), we do not do any competition with them, we just want balanced horses physically and emotionally because they are our co-coaches when we coach people.

    We realised last year we do need people who have some experiences with horses or a big open heart to new experiences with animals and a fast learner if no experience with horses held in herds.

    We can show you some nice walks by foot/bicycle.

    We invite you in our home & family and make you part of it. We prefer volunteers who can operate independently most of the work will be done on your own.
    During the year we often only host one person or a couple - during the summer we may have more volunteers the same period. Minimum age 20.

    We accept volunteers from 2 up to 4 weeks and longer if we all get along

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Nederlands, Français, English, ein bisschen Deutsch, un poco de Espanol

  • Accommodation


    You'll have a room to yourself or with an other volunteer in our farm with a bathroom (you share with others) on the floor below. Our farm is a 160 year old building, everyone has his own room, so yes it's pretty big.
    We also have a holiday flat in the farm for 3 or 4 people which we rent out.

    We can not accept volunteers travelling with their pets (dogs, cats, ...) .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You are free to join our weekly yoga classes,

    Our farm is situated at the North of the Belgian Ardennes, 15 minutes away from the railway station Marloie which will bring you to Bruxelles and the rest of Belgium or to Luxemburg City. You can also use a bike to discover to close by villages & towns such as Durbuy, La Roche en Famenne, Rochefort,...

    We do not always eat vegetarian, but it is possible, we try to eat veggie 2 to 3 times a week. In summer we grow a lot of our veggies our self.

    No smokers allowed.

    Our kids speak Dutch, French and English

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 to 5 hours, 5 days a week

The woods on the other side of the road, yes it goes uphill !
A not so recent picture of our family
The woods behind the house
A friend's daughter with one of our horses
Making a snowman during "spring" camp last year
Kids at summer camp practising yoga
This is me, giving Shiatsu (acupressure massage) to a horse
A nice scene during summer camp last year

Host ref number: 337112585928