Help on a small organic farm, forest dog walking in Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 237 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small farm with 2 goats, 2 Arabian riding horses, dogs, chickens , ducks, and 1 lovely cat. We have been welcoming international volunteers for 10 years. Virginia was an English/French as a foreign language professor for 10 years at the local university and loves to help people improve their language skills. Love sharing food, travel stories and a good day's work! If you love goat cheese and spending time working outdoors with lovely animals, this is the place for you.
    Work includes caring for animals, cleaning, firewood and fodder handling, fencing and various maintenence farm activities. Never 2 days alike! We are low tech and try to be as sustainable and productive as we can!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Language skills, how to milk a goat, care for and train dogs and puppies, horses and other skills related to sustainable lifestyle in the country working with animals and the earth. We teach self confidence and safety around horses and dogs, body language and the importance of clear communication.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for openminded, energetic people who are looking for a country farm experience away from the city. Would like help with caring for animals, walking dogs, firewood preparation, fencing, gardening, meal preparation and other outdoor activities. We love working and being around flexible, curious people who love to share their traveling experiences!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room in shared house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Workawayers enjoy biking, kayaking, puppy cuddling, goat hugging, beach exploring, hiking and on their time off. We have a piano, guitar and tinwhistle and love music! The best way to arrive here if you don't have a car is by shuttle bus. There are three that can take you from Halifax directly to the farm. Very reliable service.
    Mariner shuttle
    Kathleen's shuttle bus
    Cloud 9 shuttle
    Workawayers are invited to arrive from Monday - Thursday anytime before nightfall. Please no weekend (Fri-Sun) or nighttime arrivals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Excellent high speed wifi in afternoon.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of parking

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)










Host ref number: 463833574583