Help out with our renovation project in the countryside of north-Saxony, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Two years ago we, now a family of four (our kids are almost 5 and 2) left the city for a life aligned with the rhythms of nature as much as possible and as it suits us. In the countryside of north-saxony we made a historic water mill with a surrounding huge garden area our new home.

    Although we almost finished a little farm house for our living, the more than 200 years old mill still needs restauration.
    At this time, our main focus is lying on creating our soul project of a nature/wilderness center and tending to our young kids - which we care for full time - and the land we are living on.

    At the rigth time we want to add many more things to our life and project such as learning about and implementing permaculture (hortus) principles wherever we can, grow our our own food as much as possible and care for some more animals than our dog, cats and chicken. We also would love to host cultural events as film screenings, small concerts and theater plays for the surrounding community now and then.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to give you some insights in our small farm living in a rural area of Germany with a great amount of ecological awareness. You might learn a thing or two about renovation of old buildings, fixing, maintaining or upcycling.
    You might also benefit from our background as wildernis and nature educators, get in deeper connection with nature and explore with us all the facettes of our earth's magic.
    And if you want to learn the German language, we are happy to help you with that.

  • Help

    Help

    Your hands and hearts are welcome.
    Right now we mainly need help with two things:
    * building >> Workawayers did already help with building a nature fence surrounding our place or renovating the tiny house on the outside and inside
    * tending to our kids >> We choose to care for our kids full time and are tending to them without emotional or physical violence. This means we acknowledge and respect their needs, try to balance the needs that occur within our family and hold space for their own experiences and in processing their emotions. Since we, unfortunately, don't live in a community right now and don't have a village arround us to help us caring for everything, we surely need time for ourself to regain strength and ease for all those tasks and challenges. Therefore, we appreciate your help a lot in accompanying our kids during the day.

    Some other things where we might love to get a hand from time to time are gardening, preserving the harvest and preparing food.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, French, Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer two kinds of accomodation. One is a tiny house on wheels in our garden with a wonderful view over the fields. The wagon contains a wood stove, 2-flame gas cooker, fridge and sleeping space. We also have a camping trailer which is well equipped. During the warmer season you will find many quiet places on our ground for putting a tent. Next to the tiny house there‘s a compost toilet and another water toilet can be found within the mill.

    We prepare at least one warm meal during the day, mostly vegetarian and with greens and fruits from organic farming (and sometimes including meat/fish from ethical sources). We very much like to share the work of cooking, preparing the table and cleaning afterwards with all our guests. So you are very welcome to bring in your ideas and hands. But also, there is no need for you to follow our family rhythm, so if you prefer your individual times of eating just go with what suits you best.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live very close to nature, so it's best if you like to take walks in the woods, listen to old oaks, follow animal tracks or love to hike.
    We can also offer a small amount of bikes. The big river Elbe is quite nearby and is accompanied by a proper bike trail. 5 mins away there's a bus stop which connects you to the nearest towns Torgau and Bad Düben (both 20 mins.). But busses don’t run that often. From Torgau you can take the train to Leipzig (ca. 40 mins.)

    We have internet/wifi but the access is very limited (limited data).
    Our labrador dog Paula is curious and loves to play and work, so even if she appears big and black she's just a clown with fur..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The old water mill and our little house attached
That‘s us without our little son
We appreciate community
The little ones exploring
Our fury clown
Your space if you want
Simple & rustic | The interior of the tiny house
Cozy wood stove in the tiny house
The tiny house needs some more paint..
We love to garden
DIY
Still life in our garden
Calm & peaceful | Morning view over the fields
Let‘s go for a walk and enjoy surrounding nature‘s beauty together
Greeen!


Host ref number: 912189645256