Helping a Dutch-German family on their organic cheese farm - Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 340 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young Dutch-German family, living in the south-west of Germany. We have two children (born 2012 and 2015) going to a German school/kindergarten. In 2017, we moved from Holland to Germany to start our organic cheese farm. In summer 2018, we finally started milking the cows. Now we are producing certified organic cheese, yoghurt and other milk products as well as beef sausages that we sell at our farm and at local markets. We are working together with local companies and also sell organic cheese that we buy from other farms. In September 2020, we expect to open our own dairy and produce all milk products right here on our property. Besides that, we are constantly busy with constructing and renovating the 200-year-old farm.

    The farm is located next to a forest with lots of open space around, but also close to the city of Kaiserslautern (20km). The nearest train station is in the village of Enkenbach-Alsenborn (3km).

    There is always a lot of work and different things to do at our farm, so we appreciate any help we can get. Caring for our horses, walking with our donkeys, maintaining the vegetable/herbal garden, renovation and construction work - these are just a few examples of how we could use your help. You will see how we make our dairy products.

    At the farm we mainly speak German and Dutch. We also speak English quite well, except for the children, who can count to ten in English and are keen to learn some more words ;-)

    In terms of accommodation, we can offer our workawayers two options. We have a nice caravan with two double beds on one of the willows, and a small room with a single bed in the main house. The shared bathroom and kitchen are always open for everyone to use. We are happy to cook and share our meals together, and – if the weather allows – sit around a bonfire and exchange thoughts and stories after a hard day’s work.

    Would you like to learn a different language (German or Dutch), new skills, and experience another culture? Do you like working at an ambitious new farm, in a beautiful setting, together with a young open-minded family? Then you are most welcome in any period! :-)

    If you have any questions, do not hesitate to get in touch and ask. As we are always very busy working on our farm, we may not reply instantly, but will get in touch as soon as we can.

    We're looking forward to meet you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    By joining our family and everyday life, you will learn about Dutch and German culture, about similarities and differences, and we ourselves are also open for new ideas and how our helpers look at things. By interacting with the other workers helping on our farm and the local community you will also get different cultural insights.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We can always use help in construction works and renovation at the farm. So, if you like to build, repair or paint things, you could really help us out. If that’s not your favorite line of work, there is a lot of other things we can use your help with: Caring for our animals, mucking out the stables, walking with our donkeys and mapping hiking trails for visitors, feeding the horses/chicken/rabbits/dogs, maintaining the vegetable greenhouse and herbal garden, picking cherries, cutting the weeds, setting up fences around the pastures, chopping wood, taking care of our two lovely kids and generally helping with the household. As we live on a busy farm, we generally appreciate helpers who don’t shy away from physical work and are open to different tasks they can help with. While some of these need to be done according to our daily schedule, others can be handled more flexibly, depending on your talents and personal interests.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment we can accommodate a family of four in the caravan and one or two workawayers in our house. The shared bathroom and kitchen are available to you anytime. We do provide for foodstuff and are happy to cook/share our meals together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a beautiful setting with a lot of nature around. Exploring the surroundings by bike, hiking or on horses is a great possibility. The are some villages and the larger city of Kaiserslautern nearby where you can get to by train or car. There is a lot of contact with the local communities, and we like to organise events on our farm for them when the time allows. Our kids enjoy their freedom on the farm and like to play all day when they are not at school or kindergarten. We appreciate the good moments together, but also mind own space and privacy when needed. We are generally open-minded towards other cultures and religions and like to exchange thoughts about life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 627891753596