Looking for someone to be part of our family and spend time with our daughter in Picherande, France

Country

France

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    (French below)
    Dear workawayers,

    We are a french family, Roxane (1 year old), Aude and Jean-Philippe. We run an hostel in Picherande in the "Parc Naturel des Volcans d'Auvergne" since 2019, at the bottom of the Puy de Sancy, the highest french volcano. The area get snow in winter, with a ski station nearby (9 km).

    Our Hostel is an hostel with 27 beds in 4 dormitories. It has a big living room and a shared kitchen. We also provide meals (breakfast and dinner), and a packed lunch. We want our activity to have a low impact on the environment: organic food garden (coming soon...), fruit trees, chickens, compost... We have lots of projects around this topic like dry toilets, plant a food hedge, improve heating system...
    We'd like the Hostel to become a meeting place between travelers and locals. This summer, we'll organize some events (concerts, workshops, ...) to start this important part of what we want this place to be!
    We are located in a village with an amazing community spirit and surrounded by nature and wildlife.

    We are looking for somebody to help with our child in february. We'll obviously provide accomodation and food in our own house, which is within the hostel building. You've got to be comfortable with dogs because our dear Pisco is still quite young and VERY lively. It can be very good if you feel to take him for a walk too !

    In order to get an appropriate answer, when you contact us please answer to the following questions:
    1) When will you be able to come ?
    2) How long would you like to stay ?
    3) Where are you right now? (Country, city, place, etc. to make sure you can come despite the covid restrictions)

    Thank you for your time, we hope to read from you soon!
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Chers workawayers,
    nous sommes une petite famille française, Roxane (1 an), Aude et Jean-Philippe. Nous tenons un gîte d'étape dans le Parc Naturel des volcans d'Auvergne, au pied du Puy de Sancy, le plus grand volcan de France métropolitaine, depuis 2019 (proche de la station de ski Super-Besse).

    Le Volcan'Hostel dispose de 27 lits répartis dans 4 dortoirs. Il y a une grande salle commune et une cuisine partagée. Nous fournissons la demi-pension et des paniers repas pour le midi.
    Nous souhaitons que notre activité soit le plus respectueuse de l'environnement possible : jardin bio (en construction), arbres fruitiers, poules, compost, ... Nous avons aussi de nombreux projets autour de ce sujet : toilettes sèches, planter une haie nourricière, améliorer le système de chauffage du bâtiment,...
    Nous voudrions que le Volcan'Hostel deviennent un lieu de rencontre entre locaux et voyageurs. Cet été, nous organisons quelques évènements (concerts, ateliers, stages,...) pour commencer à mettre en place cet aspect important pour nous.
    Nous nous situons dans un village (Picherande) avec un très bon esprit collectif et entouré de nature et de vie sauvage.

    Nous cherchons quelqu'un qui puisse prendre soin de Roxane pendant les périodes chargées (on peut avoir beaucoup de monde par moment !) et peut-être un peu d'aide avec le jardin. Nous demandons de l'aide entre 3 et 5 heures par jour, selon les besoins, 5 à 6 jours par semaine. Plutôt le matin après le petit déjeuner et le soir pendant le service. Nous ne demandons pas d'aide pour l'hostel.
    Si tu es à l'aise en société, dynamique, à l'aise avec les enfants, c'est une super opportunité pour toi ! Nous cherchons quelqu'un pour février. Tu seras évidemment logé (dans une chambre chez nous, dans le même bâtiment que le gîte), nourri et blanchi. Il vaut mieux que tu sois à l'aise avec les chiens : notre adorable Pisco est encore jeune et TRES vivant... Si d'ailleurs tu es chaud pour aller marcher avec lui, il sera le plus heureux des chiens !

    Pour être sûr d'avoir tous les éléments, quand tu nous contacte, s'il te plait réponds à ces questions :
    1) A partir de quand peux-tu venir ?
    2) Combien de temps peux-tu rester?
    3) Où te trouves-tu en ce moment? (pour être sûrs que tu puisse venir malgré les éventuelles restrictions liées au covid).

    Merci d'avoir pris le temps de nous lire, on espère avoir de tes nouvelles bientôt !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to exchange with us and our guests. You'll be part of our family : we can teach you french, how to cook, how to create clothes, how to take care of the food garden, how to take care of our little girl. You can visit our fantastic region, with all the mountains, waterfalls, rivers, ski station... You can meet a lot of people from our village : everybody has a special something to teach, or experiences to share!
    For us, having you at home will be very good! As we stopped traveling a few years ago, we are keen to welcome you and exchange about travelling and share your culture if you want to.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who can take care of Roxane during "rush hours" (the place can be pretty busy at times) and maybe some help in the private food garden, ... We'll ask you to help us 3 to 5 hours per day, 5 days / week. You'll have to stay with her mainly in the morning, after breakfast, and keep an eye on her while she is sleeping on the evening (we will be busy with our guests dinner). Sometimes, if you are comfortable with it, a bit of help in the private food garden will be necessary. You will only be helping with childcare, the dog and our private garden. No help will be required at the hostel.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room in our house, with a small shower-room in it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lot of hiking, biking (you can have one from ours), festivities during week-ends, mountain activities, including skiing. Both of us already did a lot of woofing/workaway/helpX around the world.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 to 5 hours, 5 days per week



Host ref number: 911876392496