Stay with our Anglo/French family and help out with general maintenance, gardening and other projects in Northern Ireland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 20 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Stay in North Antrim and help with the maintenance and upkeep of an old farm yard, restoration of the house and the renovation of a victorian kitchen garden. We are an Anglo/French family with 2 teenage sons living in an 18 century family home. Keen Mountain bikers, walking, tennis, musicians and interests in other sports.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a house that has been occupied by the same family for over 200 years and the history that goes with that in the local area. We speak English and French at home and enjoy the cultural diversity. You will be close to the Giant's Causeway and coast. Our children speak French and are studying French and Spanish and would love to share it.

  • Help

    Help

    if you have gardening skills we are looking for people to help the reclaiming of the Garden (an old victorian garden )
    If you have carpentry skills we have an 18th century stable yard that needs some doors repairing as well as painting.
    If you have Decorating skills we are looking to decorate various rooms in the house.
    on top of this there are always fences that need repairing and wood that needs chopping and gardens that need tending.
    No previous experience is essential.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French (a little Italian, rusty German and Spanish)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be living and eating with the family in our house having your own bedroom, you will be expected to muck in at meal times. Access to kitchen, living room, extensive parking, should you be traveling by motorbike, car or camper van, secure parking places are abundant.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a tennis court, and a river you can fish. we are close to Ballymoney (1 km) (with shops,rail station direct link to Belfast and Londonderry, buses, museum, pubs and cafes) and 15mins from the coast. If you are Game of thrones fans we are close to lots of the sights. The Giants Causeway is nearby. We are happy to give you a lift to the train station and buses. The local town is walking distance from the house and bicycles are available.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 899317564176