Help to look after the land and learn about foraging and preserving near Calgary, Canada

  • Favourited 121 times
  • Last activity: 19 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Prairie Panorama, 50 acres of pasture for horses. Help outdoors with an active senior’s yard and animal care. Dogs, cats, garden, some fruit bushes, irrigation canal that I forage along. Enjoy the peace and tranquility of animals in nature under a prairie sky. Assist with personal gardening, preserving, yard maintenance and animal care. This is not business related work for pay.
    Close to Strathmore, 1 hour to Drumheller, 40 minutes to Calgary airport.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn gardening, natural horse care, depending on time of year, pickling, preserving garden produce.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, yard maintenance. Fence repair, housework, preserving, pickling, odd tasks and animal training and maintenance to assist an active senior, get to know groundwork with horses in a herd.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Have a limited knowledge of German and American Sign Language

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom in home with queen bed, tv, private bathroom with tub and shower. Food provided in exchange for work, can be shared cooking, meals can be together or separate depending on visitor’s preference.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Rural location, no public transport. Drumheller nearby. Can walk along irrigation canal. I tend to stay home enjoying animals and yard much of the time, enjoying the peace.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Desk for use, wifi good for a rural location.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Large acreage, space to park and plug in

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 899185323127

Feedback (5)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)