Support eco-projects around my adobe house in Tucson, Arizona, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 145 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Nestled in mid-town, Tucson, AZ my 1959, 1-level, adobe house is walking distance from many services such as grocery stores, a movie theater, a small plaza with a weekly farmers market and the Rillito River (dry most of the year) Path for walking & cycling. This small-scale, environmentally responsible home runs on solar power and gas heat/hot water, collects rainwater, re-uses laundry water, and produces some food: apples, peaches, guava, cherries, apricots pluots, herbs..... I'd like to expand on this by completing a new raised vegetable garden that is already walled in with re-used concrete rubble and half-filled with dirt. That's the first project, there are about a dozen more to choose from depending on your interests and experience.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have 30 yrs experience in the building design field and, if all goes well, I may be a licensed Architect by the end of 2018. I'm also the 5th of 6 in my family and brought up to be adaptable, collaborative and learn from others. Let's share our knowledge and interests for a week or two.

  • Help

    Help

    Options include:
    Complete Vegetable garden by carting additional dirt and compost to corner of yard, mixing and planting.
    Revitalize old, root-bound herb garden.
    Brainstorm more ways to collect, store, re-use rain and greywater.
    Brainstorm more ways to grow more food.
    Build a shed for tools.
    Build a shade structure for parking.
    Organize workshop.
    Paint new solid-core doors inside house.
    Basic housekeeping & cleaning up after yourselves.
    Play ping-pong!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French - would like to learn more French as well as Spanish and other languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two private rooms are available - each with a Queen sized bed. One guest bathroom is available to share.
    Good sized kitchen accomodates group cooking.
    Den available at opposite end of house from bedrooms for music or movies with monitor and hdmi cable available for laptop use. Wifi, no cable tv.
    Quiet hours: 9pm - 5:30am.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Loaner bikes are available. Bus service is decent here. Lots of places to hike and cycle.
    I will cook one large meal each week and provide mostly vegetarian staples for guest use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 893845761462