Come stay and help in our Adobe House, New Mexico, USA


United States

updated   Last minute

Favourited 272 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  • Description


    We are a uncomplicated family of 3 (Jutta, Charlie and Nina), I'm originally from Switzerland, hubby from here, and our daughter, 3 dogs, 1 rabbit, and chickens. We have a pretty big organic garden. We enjoy working and improving our environment. We like to do all of the work ourselves.

    In 1986 we build a alternative passive Solar house from scratch, and it's not a square box, north side has 3 circles with different dimensions, mostly out of Adobe. We live on the bottom of a 12'000 foot mountain, elevation here is 7000 feet (2000m)
    We love art, music, being creative, alternative Architecture, Interior Design, organic gardening, Active/passive Solar energy, recycling, re-using, simple, mindful, harmonies living. Living kind of ''outside the box''.

    We are used to, and enjoy living with other people. We are looking for energetic, positive, honest, communicative people, that can contribute to our lives (and visa versa) learning from each other. At the moment we are constructing a new Greenhouse (that just got finished, thanks to all of you that came to help!!) and now a bathroom. (also just finished!) At the moment we are looking for someone (if possible, but not necessary) with basic plumbing, electric and construction experience. Construction, handyman type work, CAR knowledge, Garden maintenance, landscaping, helping with dinner preparation, wood splitting/cutting, and maybe light housecleaning would be on top of the list. At the Moment we need help to build a dog prove fence and potentially remodel our old bathroom (Including constructing a new bathroom closets and bedroom floor.

    We love color, and being creative when building. Input always welcome.

    In the future, we are hoping to start building another house, (hopefully it will end to be an Earth house) and we will be needing a lot of help. We are still in the planning stages, could use help with design, ideas and drawings, and later construction.

    We have a good sized guestroom for you. It is important to find a good match. We do not want flaky, unreliable, lazy, dishonest people! No drifters and mentally unstable people. Would prefer long term, 1- 3 month, trial base a week or so, to see how well we live and match together.

    The philosophy of this ''workaway'' for us is, it being a learning experience, to share our lives and visa versa. Harmony and good communication skills are very important to us. No drama please. Unfortunately, last year we have had a couple of people here, that were more interested to browse the internet or their cell phone most of the day, so, if that's very important to you, to have your own agenda, this may not be the right place for you, We will boot someone that cannot do without) we prefer people, that still have the ability to verbally talk and share your life with us while you are here. At the moment, one of us is a light smoker.

    If you are flexible and can go with the flow, you fit in just fine!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With European back ground can provide German lessons, if interested
    New Mexico is a very versatile cultural state, many different cultures live here

  • Help


    We can always use a helping hand in the garden, and several projects that we have planned. email for details.
    At some point in the future, the new house, (maybe)
    For the most part more physical work.
    Stucco the sun rooms
    cutting/splitting wood
    I desperately need help with some Mac issues and help to finish my website.
    Help with cooking/dishes/upkeep of the house and garden and animals

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Swiss German

  • Accommodation


    You would have your own room (Queen size bed)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    National forest closed by, in winter skiing, summer hiking or walking, Location roughly between Albuquerque and Santa Fe, elevation 7000 feet (2000m), lot's to see and do, (too much to list) Culture is a mixture between Native American Indians, Hispanics and white. Balloon Fiesta in fall. Warm and Hot springs.
    You do need a car for just about most of this!
    To get here, you need a car, we are willing to pick you up in Albuquerque, but once you are here, no public transportation. We do go to town every so often, and you can catch a ride.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 15135728454d

Give the gift of Workaway
read more

Find your perfect host