Help me with learning Italian and house renovation near Manchester.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 328 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    22

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Geoff, I am married and I live with Mary, my wife in the County of Lancashire, in a small town on the Pennine hills, 24km from Manchester, England. We have 3 children, who are grown up and have left home, and 2 Grandchildren.
    We also have a Dog and a Cat.
    We live in a detached house on the edge of a village with easy access by road and train to Manchester / Leeds. The house has a small vegetable garden where I grow fresh produce in spring / summertime. I have been renovating the house by myself for the last 16 years and I am nearly finished.. Help with this renovation work would be welcome but not at all essential.

    Ideally we want to offer a place to a single native Italian person who would enjoy helping me (Geoff) to learn Italian, and also to help with some gardening work when the weather improves, (about April). Occasional help with some general building and home decoration work might be useful, but helping me to learn Italian is the main reason for having a workawayer stay here. It would be ideal if the person chosen could speak English only a little and want to learn a bit more. I myself (Geoff) have been learning Italian at night school and would appreciate practicing my Italian. Italian language practice with Geoff does not have to be for more than 3 or 4 hours per day, although previous workawayers have usually wanted to continue for more than this time as it has been fun! Workawayers will have plenty of time for themselves to do whatever they wish. Learning Italian will be for a maximum of 3-4 days a week..

    Workawayers will have their own comfortable private double bedroom with internet access (not for video downloads) and would share all other amenities / meals, etc.

    Manchester is an international city, as are Liverpool and Leeds. They are 24, 34, and 64 kilometres from our house respectively, and are easily accessible by road or rail. The Pennine hills are beautiful and great for walking. Yorkshire and Derbyshire are close if you like walking in the hills and the countryside. The lake district is 2 hours away and is absolutely wonderful place to visit. If you like sports, especially football, the North of England has some of the best teams in Europe. I support Manchester United.

    Geoff & Mary

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    See above

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English / Italian (un po) / French (un peu)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will have their own comfortable private double bedroom with internet access and would share all other amenities / meals, etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    See above

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5






Host ref number: 893818136185