Help on my homestead in Southern Chile.

Country

Chile

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a Homestead at the beginning of the south of Chile (pre Andes), South America where I need help to maintain the place, from November to April. i have a large orchard, small vegetable organic garden, some sheep, dogs, trees..Lots of things to repair, trees to prune, prepare for winter.
    I need people who know how to work in the country, age 30+ Intelligent, clean, good worker, conscious about environment, interested in the culture of my country. For me this is a cultural exchange plus a tremendous help to me in my homestead.
    This is not a holiday place . It is an interchange. I don't give wine, cigarettes, coffee, expensive foods. We eat very well but simple foods.(2 meals a day+ lodging),
    If the voluntarios need specialty foods, they can bring them (no smoking in the house or workshop) The work is 5 hours, depending on the job. 5 days a week, but if the voluntario wants to go camping, or get to know the area, they can take 2-3 days off. I don't give food when they go to do this...of course.
    I give a clean bed and large room. Even though the place is humble i expect the voluntario to leave it clean and the bed made when they leave. It is a lot of work for me to have a voluntario so I expect help. I can not teach how to garden or do anything. I can train and the volunteer will work with me or/and my workers who is great.
    Please tell me if you have any allergies. We have animals and a lot of grass.
    I show the volunteers my town and surrounding area and whatever is going on culturally that might be of interest to them. It is a gorgeous area with mountains, lakes, rivers and very pastoral.
    I prefer to receive planetary conscious volunteers.
    A volunteer for me is a person who is interested in my culture. Please respect our culture and don't judge.
    We start at 8am.
    Please do not ask to go to town every day.
    Thanks

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn about our geography, environment, foods, art, the way people live. We have fun

  • Help

    Help

    repairs, maintenance, garden work. Some construction. Reparing road. Pruning. Cutting a tree here and there, fixing road after a rain, etc.
    Whatever is going on in my place
    I have a worker who works 8 hours a day and if we have a project we finish it. I work too and i am 70years old. The volunteers can go and visit the surrounding area any time they want. I live 6kms from town which is not far but it is quite a bit of walking
    Also it takes some time to train a volunteer . A volunteer should be a help, not a burden
    Please don't contact me if you are not going to participate in our way of life. Thanks

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a workshop where i do art where volunteers sleep. It has a bathroom. Cold shower. Hot 3 min shower in my home
    I cook mainly vegetarian meals. For sure 2 meals a day
    If i am not present, the volunteer can cook by him/herself
    I have a permanent worker who does the main work.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I prefer people who are conscious about the Planet and its beings.
    I am an environmentalist and in some measure I work for the planet and its beings.
    Please be a good worker. It is unsettling to have my worker busy and the volunteer stop work every half an hour.
    Please do not give my worker alcohol
    I could have a person or couple for 1 year
    Thanks

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5-6 hours, 4-5 days a week maximum 25 hours a week






Host ref number: 893477775744