Land Stewardship & Wild Cooking in Sooke BC, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 714 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    68  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings! I'm a private chef that has a irresistible call for the wild. I like to make use of peoples strengths and have a wide range of work to be done as well as general maintenance and foraging wild foods that need to be processed.
    I love to show people the way of the land, taking people on culinary adventures, cooking on fire and using primitive cooking techniques is a taste of what I do.
    I live on 8 acres of land with another family that is close to me, they are my tribe. Besides workaway's staying with me, friends and community are coming together to help build amazing things, this is really just the beginning!
    You will be staying with me in my home or on the land of my home. The beach is 10min walk and wildness is on the doorstep. Sooke is the last town before you loose cell connection and enter the gnarly rain forests of Juan De Fuca, home of some of the worlds best hiking trails. Also to mention kayaking, surfing, swimming, biking, yoga. There is a mountain bike that you are free to use.
    I'm a really easy going guy who loves good food! I go to local organic farms, gather wild edibles, ferment, preserve.. to sum it up you will be eating the best food ever and feeling rejuvenated.

    PLEASE READ;
    Ideal time to stay is 2-3 weeks, I find this is perfect length for both parties, no long term please as it gives more people a chance to stay too.
    My next opening to host is from February 6, 2020.

    Please send me a line if this calls you.
    Thank you for your interest in helping me nourish others,
    Tom, aka Chef :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My mission is to connect people with their food again, through nature, to eat from their land. To give a taste of how we use to gather, preserve, cook and dine. I like to inspire others in the kitchen, so they go home with a new vision of how to organize their pantry and lifestyle so they can live a better life and heal the world. I have over 25 years of professional cooking experience, want to learn something specific? From fermenting, bread making, elixirs, detoxing, wildfoods, gluten free, etc.. whatever you want learn I'm happy to share knowledge, just pick my brain. My superpower is culinary arts, to better the world one bite at a time.

  • Help

    Help

    As you know doing things by yourself can be quite a challenge, I need your help as a extra set of hands. Besides my culinary work we have been establishing a co-op in order to save the land from development, so we can continue to share sacred knowledge to our community.
    Here's a few ideas of work, everyday will be different, no routine's here. All depends on the work that I have offered and then when I don't have a event we take care of things around the house like;
    - finishing a cob earthen oven
    - maintaining our sacred tipi space
    - landscaping, keeping trails open
    - harvesting and chopping wood, starting and supervising fire
    - garden weeding, harvesting, sowing seeds, more food for workaway's ;)
    - gathering and processing wild foods
    - preserving food, like making yummy ferments
    - helping cooking for dinners and events
    - washing dishes and keeping kitchen clean
    - cleaning the house is always appreciated
    - if you have special skills to offer I like to take advantage of them, so please let me know if you have a gift to share :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the time of year and how many helpers and guests are staying at the moment, your sleep options will be in a newly renovated spare room with a queen size bed and it's own restroom located in my house. Another option might be to camp, I have tents and sleeping bags, you will still have all the luxuries to use inside the home. Your also welcome to sleep in the tipi if it is available, if you never been in a tipi with a fire the experience is epic!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We've been establishing a co-op named "Elemental Collective" in order to purchase the land from our landlord so we can continue to share sacred knowledge with out community. Some of the work you do will help this vision coming to fruition.
    -
    About the smoking, I do occasionally smoke medicinal marijuana blended with other sacred herbs. I do not welcome cigarettes but am okay with organic tabbaco that you roll yourself.
    -
    I have many secret places for you to discover, since it's a secret you will have to experience yourself.
    My homeland is a attraction to other people that seek the wild side, I have many things to share and teach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. If you help more you get more perks like dessert & ferments ;)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)






































Host ref number: 187818291988

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more