Jane

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Guatemala

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2019 - 17/03/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    443

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I work as a teacher trainer in a field of education known in the U.K. as "global learning". It is all the things I am passionate about like human rights, equality, social justice, sustainable development etc. I am also a qualified TEFL teacher (Teacher of English as a Foreign Language) and have taught for many many years. I am fluent in Spanish after living in Madrid for nearly 7 years and I also speak Turkish and French. I am a single parent and my daughter has recently moved away to start university. I love nature and being outdoors, walking and swimming, especially in rivers and the sea. I also love food and cooking (I ran a small cafe kitchen in Turkey once), African music and dancing, photography, travelling and reading. And I am good at gardening!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    General gardening especially growing herbs, Cooking, Fluent Spanish and other languages, English Language teaching, Teacher training, Philosophy for Children, Translation and Interpreting, Bringing up a child, Good amateur photographer, keen eye for colour and interior design/decorating.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish (fluent), Turkish (good) and French (reasonable)

  • Age

    55

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I will be travelling for two and a half months in Guatemala. I love working on projects with children and young people and I would also be happy to provide occasional childcare/babysitting for a family, although would prefer not to be doing this most days. I may be older than many volunteers but I am fit and very healthy and very young at heart! (the only thing I can't do is lift heavy loads due to a back issue - any picking or planting may have to be mixed with other tasks). I can also provide help with tourists on reception in hotels and hostels and am happy to do general upkeep and cleaning too. Due to my back problems though I cannot make beds or hoover!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback