Help caring for my dogs and chickens at my historic home in the Staffordshire Moorlands, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 601 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    121

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am renovating a Grade 2 listed Georgian Rectory in the beautiful Staffordshire Moorlands area, at the foot of the Peak District National Park. There is comfortable living accommodation in the house, with 6 double bedrooms and several bathrooms...some of it still being renovated.
    I have a smallholding with 3 large Newfoundland dogs, some chickens and goats.
    We need help primarily with taking care of the animals, walking the dogs, and with decorating the house, gardening and cleaning.
    I would welcome warm and genuine people into my home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers would learn about keeping animals, and about restoring a period property.

  • Help

    Help

    Firstly and most importantly, volunteers would need to like animals. I would like some help with taking care of the dogs and taking them for a walk daily. They are very big!
    I would also like some help with decorating, cleaning, odd chores and gardening.
    Please note that you would need to do your own cooking/prepare your own food. I will pay for the food of course!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is in my house, a double bedroom and a twin bedroom are available. There is a shared lounge, kitchen and the use of 2 bathrooms. There are beautiful gardens to enjoy with fantastic views. Mountain bikes available for your use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Being at the foot of the Peak District National Park there are numerous visitor attractions, historic buildings and famous gardens plus fantastic hill walking in the area. We are also near to the famous Potteries region where traditional china potteries still operate using old techniques. We are 4.5 miles away from the theme park Alton Towers.

    Please note that Kingsley, where I live, is a small village in a rural community. I do not have children. I am at work weekdays. The nearest shops, restaurants etc are about 2.5 miles away. There is a bus that goes from outside my house.

    The location is very rural, but there are excellent bus and train routes and I can drop you off at the station etc. for days out subject to timing. Cheadle is the nearest town, 2.5 miles away. The city of Stoke on Trent is 8 miles away. The Peak District towns of Buxton, Leek, Bakewell are reachable by bus within half an hour to an hour.

    Manchester, Liverpool, Chester, Derby, Nottingham, Birmingham, London, Oxford are within 1-2 hours by train.
    I have mountain bikes in different sizes too for the more adventurous.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week, max 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




















Host ref number: 892985771391