Help our family on our river front acres an hour from Taree NSW, Australia



Favourited 21 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a family of 5, 3 kids, 2 adults with 3 dogs, 3 cats & 5cows, 2 goats, chickens, horses & 2 pigs. We have a love of the land, a love of the environment, and keen to try a new life with our family. We are working on our property to setup fencing to stop deer so we can plant fruit trees, put perch into the dams, building a tractor shed for future campers, and setting up a hosts cabin, plus general maintenance of property. Our plan is to run a successful 'small scale ' camp ground that will bring people into the area, to showcase how much beauty there is to see, and to end up providing us with a small income from sharing our property with others. :) But it's a lot of work to even get setup.

    In return, we offer adventure, fun, basic accomodation (loft in our cabin) or our caravan, good food, we will be your tour guides as we truely love it up here and keen to show you around and make this not just a benefit for us and our family, but fun for you! Note: we don't work you too hard because we want you to enjoy your stay, and ideally want to help and create things with us, gardens, decks, fences, signs, etc.

    We feel a couple or two people may be suited to this better to ensure you feel happy to go so rural, although successfully hosted a Swiss young lady who we loved having, the kids treated her like an older sister, and a french young man who literally fitted right in, and helped us clean up around our cabin, through to roofing, excavator work, and even cleaning & a small portion of building work. :) We are super appreciative of any help you can provide us!

    We are also keen to get some organic gardens up and running, and help with fencing. We have recently hosted a Swiss & English couple. We and the kids had a ball.. we had all enjoyed not only the help but their company, and the kids adored an extra adult around. We really want you to enjoy your stay so don't think you are working lots, you do a lot by choice, and only if you want to, but whatever help we can get we are super appreciative, and trust me you won't go hungry. We have a love of food and love sharing that! :)

    Hoping you will contact us, happy to arrange Whats App video call to discuss further and show you around :) Jenny, Lucas and our 3 feral kids!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    English, plant/garden maintenance, enjoy the area (the manning valley is gorgeous). In the summer river swims are devine, or fishing in the river, site seeing at the famous Ellenborough falls 800 metres away, kayak down the river, or lilo down... morning walks through the property, creating a rainforest walk for visitors, feeling good seeing the fruits of your labour setting up gardens, fencing, helping out around the place, or just seeing the stars... we are so high up it feels like you can touch them. Drinks around the fire... the list is endless... and Wingham nearby has an amazing rainforest walk with bats, and Tapin tops national park 20 min away is a beautiful spot for a picnic.

  • Help


    We have 3 kids and have a property on 92 acres on river frontage. We would love to find somebody or two people who are keen for a sea change, happy to help us fence areas to stop deer from eating plants, help improve our cabin, so it has internal walls etc, or just help with some basic building projects. Through to setting up gardens, mowing, fencing, and simply hanging out! Maybe help with cooking and cleaning, but more as a 'part of our family' we all do this. :) Thank you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, some mandarin

  • Accommodation


    Basic, loft accommodation or Caravan. Composting toilet, hot shower. Kitchen, and fire place, and loads of space outside! Happy to provide a tent if you would prefer than over loft or caravan, pick a spot and set it up!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Head into town and enjoy fishing, bush walks, cafe, or just hanging out on the mountain, falls walk, rapids, visit local farms, enjoy the fresh air, the stars, the fresh water river, and generally just enjoy the feeling of freedom. But happy to drop them into town once a week, and there is a local cafe and corner shop. And buses that go from here to town. Nature to see up here! The beach is only 1 hr 15 min away as well, so nothing is too far away!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Host ref number: 712825169643