Help around the house and garden in a rural canal side home in Staffordshire, England, UK


United Kingdom


Favourited 488 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    N.B. Because Julie has a weak immune system we have, very reluctantly, decided to go into self-imposed isolation in order to avoid any possibility of her contracting Covid-19 as it would almost certainly prove fatal. In these circumstances we very much regret that we are unlikely to be looking for any Workaway help probably until early (hopefully!) next year.
    We very much hope it will be "back to normal" after December. Watch this space!
    We are looking for a friendly person(s) to help us in our rural canal side bungalow in the middle of England (in Staffordshire). If you are interested in improving your English, I used to work as a teacher and also tutored lots of foreign students, so I enjoy helping people develop their language skills. As we are retired and at home most of the time, there will be plenty of opportunities for helpers to talk with us, although Workaways have attached self contained accommodation (in a 'Granny annex'), so that helpers can have their own space as well. We usually book for about a month at a time.
    The canal beside us is the Trent and Mersey Canal and we have an inflatable kayak and bicycles which Workaways may use.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We regularly invite our Workaways to accompany us to various village activities such as History Society, Produce Guild, Women's Institute, coffee mornings and Church events in order to meet local people and chat to them. These various groups have always been very welcoming. The local Rambling Group has particularly enjoyed our workaways joining their monthly walk. Julie is a retired primary school teacher and also tutored foreign students.

  • Help


    We are in our seventies, and although my husband, Peter, is relatively fit, unfortunately, I, Julie, have been seriously ill and am still recovering from an extended stay in hospital 6 years ago. We need general help around the house and garden to lessen the load on Peter. Tasks include such things as helping with gardening, food preparation, cleaning, walking our dog (Amber), and feeding the birds and swans.
    We usually work in the mornings, eat a cooked lunch together and then, after the washing up Workaways are free for the afternoon and in the evening are welcome to come into our lounge and chat to me if they wish. We eat a varied diet of meat, fish, vegetables and fruit. This means that as we eat lunch together we prefer not to accept vegetarians and cannot accept vegans.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation is in a self-contained cottage, attached to the main house, with its own bedroom (2 single beds), bathroom and TV/living room. NON-SMOKERS ONLY.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated in a beautiful rural area, with lovely views over the Trent and Mersey Canal, the River Trent and across to Cannock Chase, a designated area of outstanding natural beauty. The canal runs at the bottom of our garden and we have an inflatable kayak available for the use of helpers.
    There are some lovely nearby walks, both alongside the canal and at the nearby Wildlife Lakes. As the latter would suggest, the area is a haven for birds and we have a number of bird feeders strategically positioned, so you can watch all manner of birds from the comfort of our bungalow.
    The county town of Stafford is 8 miles away and it can be reached by a local bus, which stops less than 1km away from our home. The nearest railway station is Rugeley Trent Valley which has a direct line to London. We normally give Workaways a lift to and from the station.
    We are also just around the corner from an interesting collection of historic buildings, that now houses a number of craft & antique shops. The well known National Trust stately home, Shugborough Hall, is a couple of miles away, as is the lovely canal location of Tixall Wide. There are a number of picturesque villages in the area, complete with traditional English pubs and a few canal side cafés.
    You would also have the opportunity to learn about a part of Britain that few people know – that of the canals. Recently we sold our narrowboat (due to health problems) but we belong to 'Boaters' Christian Fellowship and are part of a friendly local boating community. We often have friends mooring their narrow boats at the bottom of our garden and have small social events, so, in the summer months, you are likely to have the chance to meet people living on their narrow boats and also going for a ride on one and through a lock so you can see how they work.
    The most convenient airport to us for arrival in England is Birmingham International airport, which is an easy train Journey to Rugeley Trent Valley station and us. The alternative is by train from Euston Station in London and train to Rugeley Trent Valley where we will collect you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 889864675732