Come stay with us and be part of our busy summer here on beautiful Manitoulin Island, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 135 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello travellers! We are Anastasia and George, a gardener and a carpenter living on a quarter acre of land overlooking hedgerows and fields out in the country. We live 1.5 kms out of a small village of Tehkummah (pronounced: tA-ku-ma), 15 minutes away from the ferry in South Baymouth. There is a general store, gas station and a library in the village. There is also a tiny farmer's market happening on Fridays during summertime.
    You will wake up to amazing sunrises, see rain clouds coming in from the east, observe the darkest sky and brightest stars and an occasional Aurora borealis. There is a "dark sky reserve" just down the road.

    We have a small organic kitchen garden, a greenhouse, five bee hives, a cat, and a woodworking shop. Anastasia takes care of the two vegetable gardens plus ecologically gardens and does landscaping all over the Island. George is a self-employed carpenter, specializing in traditional timber framing.

    We have a 2 year old boy.

    Before settling down on beautiful Manitoulin Island, we hitch-hiked across the Americas, travelled as trades people in Europe, 5 years on the road altogether, and now we are looking to support and host travellers.

    While hosting we like to share our knowledge about gardening and foraging, cooking, preserving food and a bit of homesteading.

    Although there is bus route around the Island on some weekdays, it is very limited to where you can catch a ride on it, but hitch-hiking is common and pretty easy. We have one bicycle so far that you can use to make short trips to the village, nearby lake (5 kms) or to a dune beach on Lake Huron (10 kms).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying with us you would get to see the Island life from the inside. We often invite friends to our home, visit pot lucks. Summertime is quite full of cool things to see and do on the Island.
    We'll make time to show you around in our time off.
    There are lots of stunningly beautiful spots on the Island: hiking trails, beaches, forests, swimming under the falls.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Things that we would appreciate help with are:

    -weeding, watering and maintaining the vegetable gardens
    -harvesting, processing and preserving in season produce
    -mowing the lawn
    -cooking, especially lunches
    -light house cleaning
    -babysitting when we are home
    -speaking French or Spanish to us to help us maintain these beautiful languages

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Our French is rudimentary and we are always up for practising it. We lived in Montreal for 2 years but didn't get fluent enough. We also travelled in Latin America for 2 years, and our Spanish was fluent at one point 10 years ago. we love to keep those neuron connections fired up too once in a while!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be staying in a private room on the second floor, overlooking the fields. There is a cozy loft bed with a thin firm mattress. Bed sheets, blankets, and towels provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    These are the House Rules that we ask our overnight guests to follow:

    1. Do not bring alcohol or drugs.
    We don't use alcohol or drugs, so we ask you not to bring those to the house. No smoking inside or outside.

    2. Internet.
    Use your own device to connect to our WiFi.

    3. Day Schedule.
    We meditate twice daily, morning and evening. You don't have to join with the meditation if you are not into it, just a head up. We are early to rise (4:30-5), and early to bed (8:30 - 9). We usually have breakfast around 6-6:30 on weekdays and a bit later on weekends. You are welcome to join us or wake up later. We'd love it if you would join us for at least one meal a day.

    4. Food.
    We follow a sattvic diet, which means no meat/fish/eggs/onion/garlic/mushrooms/alcohol/coffee. Please do not bring meat or fish, but feel free to bring and eat other food. We do not eat a full meal in the evening, more like a snack with herbal tea. Feel free to have a full meal in the evening if you need it though. Please help with cooking, set up, and clean up after every meal, don't be a tourist.

    5. Child rules

    Please take care to exhibit appropriate behaviour when interacting with the child
    Please do not display photos of the child on the internet
    Always have another adult present if you are in the child's bedroom
    Never have the child in your bedroom
    Please don’t take the child outside the property without permission
    Please interact with the child only in public spaces (such as the living room or on the front yard)
    Please don’t give gifts to the child
    Please don’t give money to the child
    Always inform us if you witness or suspect inappropriate behaviour towards the child by other people or children
    Do not use any physical force (such as slapping) with the child

    6. If you have read to this point, write the following in your request: "I/We have read and agree to follow your rules." This will show us how thoughtful and attentive to detail you are. In your message, describe what you are hoping to learn/do while you are staying with us and what motivated you to contact us specifically. We get a lot of generic messages, and we hope that yours won't be one of them! Looking forward to meeting you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a Starlink connection, it's high-speed internet with a few interruptions. You'll have a table to work at and a decent WiFi.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Our parking area is pretty tight, but with care a small to medium sized van can park there for some time.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 889122714355