Join our centre for kids with disabilities and get to know Tanzanian culture in Arusha

  • Favourited 11 times
  • Last activity: 23 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I'm a female 46 years old, married with three children. Professional I'm a teacher and now working as a school coordinator for both primary and secondary school. However, I'm a founder of non profit organisation deals with kids with disabilities.
    Activities:
    -Normally, we do home visit for families of the kids with disabilities through a program called door to door and support them with phisical therapy, psychosocial help, health care such as and provide basic needs for poor families .
    We do school visits to see the progress of the children for those who are enrolled at school.
    - Raise awareness to the community on how to support the kids with disabilities and eradicate stigma , discrimination, stereotypes, and Chilren protection in general

    -We have a day care for kids with disabilities
    - We have:
    1. A program manager who coordinates projects across an organisation. One of his role is to make sure everything runs smoothly and follows program roles while maintaining a high level of details for each project.
    2. A social worker who provides individual and group therapy, client assessment, create and implement a treatment plan, advocacy, health care, keeping details records, and respond to clients in crisis situations
    3. A special need teacher, who prepares and adpts teaching materials, teaching special needs children, advices parents, schools and teachers. However, a special need teacher liasing with other professionals, manage behaviour, meeting disabilities standard for education, producing students assignments, and utilising equipment and facilities
    A care giver who provides the care and supports necessary to help elevate the quality of life of the kids with disabilities.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    -Travellers will get opportunities compairing and differentiating the life style of people in our community and gaining more experiences knowledge and skills.
    -Sharing culture such as cooking , housing, dressing, dancing and music
    - Visiting villages of different tribes

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We request
    - Anyone who can volunteer to help the kids with disabilities through home visits and help for cleaning, washing or psychosocial interaction
    -Physiotherapist , Speech pathologists
    - Special needs teachers who can support kids with disabilities
    -Nurses or doctors
    - Social workers
    _People who are expert in proposal writing, fundraising, website designers.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm interested to learn correct English grammar

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is homestay for volunteers which is full of safety and security. Hot shower is available
    Local and non local food will be available but a volunteer will be free to cook using a gas cooker if she/he is interested.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers can choose to use private cars or public transport. The cheapest transport is motorcycle.
    Volunteers will be able to visit hotspring, waterfalls and national parks

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 187388324364

Feedback

Help our non-profit with bird conservation and tree planting projects in Arusha, Tanzania
Education, permaculture and indigenous community development in Arusha, Tanzania