Enjoy fresh air, nature and fun, helping out our family near Katoomba, Blue Mountains, Australia



Favourited 307 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Come and stay with our busy family.

    We have been involved with Workaway since June 2015 and have really enjoyed each and every exchange experience. We value different cultures and have enjoyed learning about our workawayers and their experiences. We are a busy family with plenty of activities to keep us on our feet during the week and weekends.

    We are located in the leafy town of Hazelbrook, just 15 minutes from the tourism centre of the Blue Mountains, Katoomba. The house is a modern 5 bedroom house with plenty of living space, you may even find a quiet corner :-)

    We enjoy a bush setting and there are several great bushwalks in the area that lead to wonderful views and waterfalls. Terrace Falls and Victor Falls are within walking distance from the house. We have good quality mountain bikes that you can use to explore the nature that surrounds us and after you get back from your ride you can enjoy a refreshing dip in our pool :-)

    We are looking for a traveling single person to help with general house duties and garden maintenance. We may also have some other projects like painting, wood chopping, helping kids with homework or better still, teaching them and us a new language!

    Working hours are very flexible and negotiable but we do prefer a minimum stay of 2 weeks so we can all get to know each other.

    No smokers, please.

    We look forward to meeting you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can learn a lot about the Blue Mountains and the local Aboriginal people from the Dharug and Gundungurra Tribes. You can also experience the typical lifestyle of a busy Australian family.

  • Help


    Washing, Folding, Ironing
    General jobs around the house, vacuuming, bathrooms, spring cleaning
    Lawn Mowing
    Gardening & Weeding
    Wood Chopping
    Helping kids with homework
    Helping get on top of a few jobs that have needed attention for a while.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Shared bathroom
    Numerous living spaces

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    5 min walk to train station
    Bushwalks, also suitable for mountain biking
    Waterfalls and natural pools
    Hiking, Canyoning, Rock climbing and more
    Michael has a mountain bike you can use anything you want
    We are close to starting line of an annual mountain bike race, The Woodford to Glenbrook. Its a must do for any mountain biker!
    Playing games with kids
    Swimming pool
    Kicking a football in the backyard
    Backyard cricket (Rusty is an excellent fielder!)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Approx 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The children and Pedro from Spain, touring at Govetts Leap in Blackheath. (Sept 16)
Our children enjoying a splash in our new swimming pool.
Sarah from Japan with a delicious Aussie treat. Pavlova! (Sept 16)
Our family with Josie when we visited Govetts Leap for a picnic
A family picture from our recent Australian adventure.
Our children with Lisette from Spain July- Sept 2015. What a wonderful time we had.
The family with Michael from Germany (July 2015)
One of our living rooms.
Our kitchen, the heart of our home.
Katoomba's famous Three Sisters
Terrace Falls - at the end of our street.
Evans Lookout Blackheath. 30 minute drive from our home.
This is our backyard.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 887773593734