Come stay with us in the hills above Berkeley, California in a beautiful neighborhood overlooking the bay, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 205 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are a family of 4, Aurora, Paolo, Francesco and Giacomo. Aurora is a nurse practitioner and Paolo is a software engineer.
    We live in the hills above Berkeley, California in an area that feels quite wild as we are next to a large regional park, with hiking trails and many animals such as deer, coyotes, foxes, etc, yet we are only about 12 miles from San Francisco, which is easily accessible on public transportation.
    Our house is about 3 miles from downtown Berkeley, an easy bus ride, or bike ride (if you are in good enough shape to ride back up the hills).
    The weather here is usually quite comfortable, but we often have fog, especially summer mornings and evenings, so be sure to bring a warm jacket even in July.

    There are beaches about 1 hours driving distance, but the water is quite cold. If you like to surf, you will need a wetsuit all year around. We also have fantastic windsurfing and sailing closer by on the bay.

    Berkeley has one of the most prestigious public universities in the US, and has multiple cultural and artistic opportunities as well as shopping and numerous restaurants. San Francisco and Oakland have great arts and music scenes.

    We are a laid back family, we have multiple musicians (guitar, keyboard), and love to jam with our friends. We are pretty active, and often go running or biking on the weekends. We love to travel but unfortunately have limits due to work. We speak English, Spanish and Italian, so please be able to converse in one of these so we can communicate. We enjoy cooking, and often use organic ingredients when available. We are omnivores, but can accommodate vegetarians (not vegans). We usually have a family dinner each night.

    Our kids are 18 and 21, and pretty busy with school and work, but often around evenings and weekends.

    We are looking for a single person or a couple. We have one small bedroom suitable for one person, or an air mattress in a loft for a couple. The loft is not completely private. Bathrooms are shared, and you can use the kitchen.

    We are generally unable to host for more than 2 weeks at a time.

    We need help on establishing an organic garden on our property. We love the idea of permaculture, and are very interested in making it butterfly and hummingbird friendly. In spring and summer we need help weeding, trimming and trying to keep the forest from taking over. Also some planting, mulching and general digging. In fall and winter, maintainace and planting will be helpful.

    We also have some projects around the house, such as walking the dog, washing windows, painting, and helping clear out the garage in preparation for making a music studio. Light housekeeping and cooking is also appreciated.


    We are home most evenings, and weekends, and would love to have you join us in whatever we are doing. During the weekdays you will need to be fairly self-sufficient as we are all working or in school during the day.

    We love having musicians stay with us, and if you play an instrument and want to have a jam session, that is a plus!

    We are all fully vaccinated, and due to CoVid19 we require all guests to be fully vaccinated with proof of vaccination. We may also require negative CoVid test prior to your stay depending on transmission rates.

    We also require that you have health insurance that will cover you in the United States.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak English, Italian and Spanish and are happy to help you practice any of these. Play music with family of musically inclined people. Explore the San Francisco Bay Area, learn to cook healthy, delicious food.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, yard work, pet care, painting, housework, de-cluttering garage, deer proofing, Italian language a plus, but not required to practice with the kids.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A queen air mattress (quite comfy) in our loft, which is open to the rest of the house, but screened off when we have guests. Shared bathrooms. Use of kitchen.
    We will provide food for breakfast, and often prepare breakfast for the whole family on weekends. For lunch you are welcome to pack a sandwich. We will provide family dinners. We can accommodate some food restrictions so be sure to ask.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are about two blocks from the bus stop, and have a good public transit system that eilll get you almost anywhere in the area.

    In your time off, you can explore the area. San Francisco, Berkeley and Oakland have a lot to offer in terms of arts, music and recreation, and cultural events.

    You could also learn to windsurf, kayak, or sail on the bay. We are close to several national parks, and state parks where you can explore the seashore or the redwood forest.

    We are also about on hour away from the ocean, and you can go surfing or boogie boarding with a wetsuit.

    Cycling is wonderful in this area, but it is quite hilly.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 538226683979