Come and help a mature aged couple around in the garden, house and buildings . Koah, near Kuranda and Cairns QLD Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a mature aged couple in our 50's and have many family in the district . We have a very large garden (thats always expanding) vegetable gardens , and fruit trees , many of which are still young and require care. After the wet season everything is lush and overgrown, including weeds and saplings. It is a lovely space and a joy to work in the yard during the winter months.

    The tourist season runs from April to September due to the glorious weather which coincidentally is the best time to garden and grow vegetables. We are located minutes from fresh water rivers and National Parks, 40 mins from Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef; 20 mins from Kuranda; 40 mins from the Atherton Tablelands , all major tourist attractions.
    You will also have you own detached accommodation and bathroom.

    The other stand out feature of Koah is the local Koah Hall ( check their facebook page), there is weekly yoga, pilates and circus and more.

    Pls don't contact us unless you are already in the region. The last 3 couples who applied were several days travel away and said their cars broke down on the way or they were offered work etc.

    So we thought it would be easier for all concerned to contact us when you are nearer to the Cairns region.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are 2 mature adults who live on a 25 acre property in a residential/small farming community. Our property is surrounded by bush land and bordered by a fresh water river ( no crocodiles) river and within minutes to National Parks.

    The Atherton Tablelands is 30 mins drive away in one direction with the city of Cairns 40 mins drive the other direction. Kuranda is 15 mins drive and is home to the Djabuguy aboriginal peoples where daily markets another tourist attractions operate daily.
    We are in a farming community and there is an opportunity to witness the small scale farming activities, or to ride horses etc. You would also be exposed to many birds and native animals such as wallabies and kangaroos , great photo opportunities.

  • Help

    Help

    Help required to weed gardens; maintain vegetable patches; mowing; whipper snipping; selective small tree removal;general outdoor chores; spring cleaning in the house, maybe a bit of painting or help with maintenance etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation we offer is a refurbished sea container and would suit a couple.

    There is a queen sized bed with a shower and toilet. A small fridge and/or tea and coffee facilities are also included. The accommodation is private and separate to the main house .

    You would share the kitchen with us in the main house including the TV, wifi, BBQ and washing machine.
    You can swim and explore the close by river or swim in our in ground pool.

    We would supply breakfast, cereal, toast, eggs or similar; lunch makings, for examples wraps and filling or similar. For dinner vegetables/salad with meat and fruit for snacks, with the main meal prepared by us.
    We also have a BBQ and will BBQ meat, fish etc outside.

    Generally we eat all our meals outdoors, weather permitting.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As previously mentioned we are in a rural district every close to major tourist attractions, Kuranda, Cairns city , the Great Barrier Reef and the Atherton Tablelands all renown and diverse in their own right. There is no public transport in Koah so it is recommended that out Workawayers have their own transport to fully explore the region. We would also love on occasion to take our guests on day trips to see some of the lesser known attractions in our region.

    We live in Koah, are self sufficient and love the peace and quiet it affords. Having said that we enjoy a beer with dinner, conversations around the fire, and socialising with friends and family.

    Our perfect guests will be people who are easy going, self motivated, considerate and able to enjoy working and living in the bush.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 886517379322