Help in a sustainable farm within the template forest of an old mining town; El Oro, México

Country

Mexico

updated  

Favourited 342 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    408

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The aim of our center is to give the human being a space to develop its mind, body and soul, by getting in touch with nature and with people that are building a self-sustainable community.

    We are rehabilitating an old wooden house in order to use energy efficiently, it is located at the top of a hill in a template forest town called El Oro, in the center of the country. We have some fruit trees and we are working in our vegetable garden, a natural pond, tadelakt, superadobe domes, and rammed earth cabin; we need help building our sustainable farm and with the maintenance of the house.

    About us:
    We are two siblings; Emmanuel (31) is an engineer passionate about nature and freedom, and Paola (26) is a designer with the will to build a better world. Together we are starting this center to learn from and with other people who share our same interests and dreams.

    --Español
    El objetivo de nuestro centro es dar al ser humano un espacio para desarrollar su mente, cuerpo y alma; mediante el contacto con la naturaleza y gente que está contruyendo una comunidad autosustentable.

    Estamos rehabilitando una antigua casa de madera para usar energía eficientemente. La casa está ubicada en la cima de una colina en un pueblo con clima templado, llamado El Oro, en el centro del país. Tenemos algunos árboles frutales y estamos trabajando en nuestro huerto de vegetales, una piscina natural, domos de superadobe, tadelakt y una cabaña de tierra compactada; necesitamos ayuda para construir nuestro centro autosustentable y el mantenimiento de la casa.

    Sobre nosotros:
    Somos dos hermanos: Emmanuel (31) es un ingeniero apasionado por la naturaleza y la libertad; y Paola (26) es una diseñadora con la voluntad de crear un mundo mejor. Juntos estamos creando este centro para aprender con/de otras personas que compartan nuestros mismos intereses y sueños.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to learn about permaculture principles and how to apply them on your daily life, surrounded by beautiful landscapes and staying in a peaceful place; you'll also learn how to live a simpler but enjoyable life. Besides, you'll get in touch with the ancient roots of Mexico, walk its old cobbled streets, talk with native Mazahua people, contemplate the mud houses, taste typical food, buy some mazahua crafts or visit its virgin forests and old mines.

    --Español
    Podrás aprender sobre principios de permacultura y como aplicarlos en tu vida diaria, rodeado de paisajes hermosos y descansando en un lugar muy pacífico; también aprenderás como vivir una vida más simple pero confortable. Además estarás en contacto con las raíces del México actual, caminar por sus antiguas calles empedradas, interactuar con personas Mazahuas, contemplar casas viejas de adobe, probar la comida local, comprar artesanías Mazahuas y visitar los bosques vírgenes y minas abandonadas.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who already have some experience or have the interest of learning with us and/or with the passion for helping other people. The activities we do, require from physical strength: working the soil, building with cob, adobe, superadobe and rammed earth; painting with nopal slime, building with recycled wood, planting trees, assistance for workshops, harvesting fruit/vegetables, feeding animals, cooking and helping with the general cleaning of the place. In some cases, depending on your knowledge, you can be a consultant regarding permaculture design, bio construction or solar energy. The working day consists of 5 hours with two breaks (1hr each) 5 days a week with 2 free days.

    --Español
    Buscamos personas con cierta experiencia en permacultura y con el deseo de aprender con nosotros y con la pasión de ayudar a otras personas. Las actividades que realizamos requieren de alguna fortaleza física: trabajar la tierra, construir con cob, adobe, super adobe y tierra compactada; pintar con baba de nopal, construir con madera, plantar arboles, asistir en talleres, cosechar frutas/verduras, alimentar a los animales, cocinar y ayudar con la limpieza general del centro. En algunos casos, dependiendo de tus conocimientos, puedes fungir como consultor en diseño de permacultura, bio construcción o energía solar. El horario de trabajo consiste en 5 horas de trabajo con dos descansos (1hr cada descanso) durante 5 días a la semana y 2 días libres.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English, Little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a volunteers room with 2 bunk beds, maximum for 4 volunteers. Workayers will have a bed at our volunteer house and have access to compostable toilet and shower with hot water. We offer 3 meals each day and 1 fruit for snack. Our diet is mainly vegetarian and in some cases we'll have some chicken or beef. You can also have a very cheap meal at the local market, which is 10 min walking from our center.

    ---Español.
    Tenemos un cuarto para voluntarios con 2 literas, capacidad para 4 voluntarios máximo. Los voluntarios tendrán derecho a una cama, uso de baño seco y regadera con agua caliente. Ofrecemos 3 comidas al día y un snack de frutas. Nuestra dieta es mayormente vegetariana y en algunos casos se consume carne de res o pollo. En caso de que tu dieta sea diferente puedes elegir comer en el mercado local (10 min caminando) a un precio muy accesible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Arriving by public transportation:

    From Mexico City:
    Check schedules and fees for the daily "Pegasso" or "Caminante" buses directly from the Observatorio bus station at CDMX to El Oro.

    From another state:
    Take a bus Atlacomulco (A small city 30min from El Oro) and then take a bus to El Oro, Pegasso has buses every 30 min.

    Let us know your arrival time so we can pick you up at the bus station and take you to our center, or take a 10 min walk. If you prefer bringing your own car, we count with a private parking lot for 6-8 cars, let us know to check availability.


    On your free time you can take a tour to the town and know it's historical buildings such as the City Hall, theatre "Juárez", old rail station and local market; also you can hike through the forest and enjoy it's beautiful sights, visit Brockman dam or old mines-museums, which you can walk inside (Mina 2 estrellas). The nearest town is Tlalpujahua, located at 15min by car where you can contemplate the old Catholic church and buy some typical blown glass crafts.

    On winter, (December to March) you can visit the magnificent monarch butterfly sanctuary in San José del Rincon, located at 45min by car; it's a unique experience that you can only find in this mexican area.


    ---Español.
    Si llegas por transporte público:

    Desde la Ciudad de México:
    Revisar los horarios y tarifas del autobús "Pegasso" directo de la estación de camiones Observatorio en la CDMX a El Oro.

    Desde otros estados:
    Tomar un autobús a Atlacomulco (Una ciudad pequeña a 30 min de El Oro) y después tomar un autobús a El Oro, hay salidas cada 30 min por "Pegasso"

    Avísanos la fecha de llegada para que podamos verte en la estación de camiones y llevarte a nuestro centro, o puedes caminar 10min desde la estación. Si prefieres traer tu auto, contamos con estacionamiento privado de 6 plazas, avísanos con anticipación para revisar disponibilidad.

    En tu tiempo libre puedes hacer un tour por el pueblo y conocer los edificios históricos como el Palacio Municipal, el Teatro Juárez, la antigua estación de ferrocarril y el mercado; también puedes tomar una caminata por el bosque y disfrutar de las vistas, visitar la presar Brockman y los museos de minería, en Mina 2 estrellas puedes entrar en la mina. Es pueblo más cercano es Tlalpujaua, ubicado a 15 min en auto donde puedes disfrutar de sus calles, iglesias y comprar conserva de frutas.

    En invierno (Diciembre a Marzo) puedes visitar el santuario de la mariposa Monarca en San José del Rincón, a solo 45min en auto, es una experiencia única que solamente puedes encontrar en esta zona de México.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week













Host ref number: 886138193783