landscaping and market gardening near the beach in Matakana country, New Zealand.

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 332 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we're a family of 4 living in the beautiful Mahurangi peninsular, about an hour north of Auckland. we're offering a self contained 1 bedroom 'mini house' on our 2 hectare property in exchange for 15 hours work per week, split over the week. The work will vary depending on the day but mostly landscaping and helping in our organic market gardens, specializing in salad greens.
    We have 2 children, luka 14 and mali 11. We also have 2 large dogs, 2 cats, and a few chickens!

    please note, we take a minimum of 2 people, and preferably 25 to 35 years. many thanks

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    we have market gardens using a no till method called 'bio intensive'. this is not just organic gardening but creating nutrient dense greens for the local farmers market in Matakana. we enjoy meeting and socializing with people from different countries. we have traveled extensively ourselves and love exchanging travels stories!

  • Help

    Help

    we only take couples or 2 friends willing to share the 'mini' house together.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, french, dutch, a bit of spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A one bedroom 'mini house' in a bush setting. the space is small but perfect for 2 to share. there is a living/kitchen downstairs and a mezzanine upstairs. there is a small shower room and composting toilet. this offer is accommodation only so you provide for your own food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we live just outside the little settlement of 'snells beach' and a short drive to the 'matakana wine country' area. there are plenty of things to do in your free time. the local beaches are lovely and there are lots of walks in the area. we offer our bikes for you to use to explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 15 hours per week worked over 4 days

our gardens
the garden beds
Our house
the accommodation 'minihouse'
kitchenette
sofa bed
mezzanine bedroom
compost toilet
a local beach
our local beach
the beautiful white sands of Omaha beach
The stream and water hole in our bush
A view of the local area
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





















Host ref number: 882985516286