Embrace the wild in our sustainable homestead in Northland, NZ

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    At the moment specifically looking for people with electrical skills to help with our solar system but also need help in the garden so open to anyone.
    We live on 60 acres 40 min out of whangarei, two thirds of it is native bush and some grazing and our space has our house, a big workshop and a sleepout for the volunteers and huge gardens. There are two single beds in the sleepout and beautiful big windows looking into the bush.
    We have 2 dogs, a kitten, 2 old rescue horses, bees, 16 goats that are super cuddly and friendly, 10 sheep and soon some chickens and we have a big organic garden with lots of fruit trees and planting more all the time.
    We want to create a fully self sustainable forest system that has any resources we can possibly grow 😁 There is no phone reception but the wifi is unlimited and accessible during the day, it is turned off when we go to bed.
    Work includes but is not limited to, gardening, building, painting, track making, digging, wood chopping, tree planting and cleaning. We are living off-grid with solar & rainwater so we need to be conscious and conservative of water and power usage.

    We love creating with our hands, we love to do anything creative, Ytai loves working with earth and wood to build things and I love to weave and work with wool and plant fibres in any way possible. I love sharing skills and crafting together is something I really enjoy.
    I feel like every part of our life is art, our way of life is trying to make this piece of paradise more beautiful and bring happiness and healthy abundance to us and our community.

    There is a beautiful stream so a swim there is always a daily option. This is a very private and secluded property and we are also quite introverted people that enjoy a peaceful environment, so best suited to anyone who enjoys spending time alone in nature. Me and ytai both need quiet time in the evening to wind down so we ask that that is respected. ❤
    Preferably you are able to find your own way to us. We dont drive into town very often but we can possibly arrange it so that we could pick you up in town when we go to the markets once a month.
    We rather host people that eat meat because we raise our own animals for meat and because we live off the land as much as possible and most of the meals we eat include this meat and therefore its hard for us to cater to vegetarians and vegans.

    Ytai & Louisa

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very down to earth and love creating art and working with whats on our land especially. Ytai does heaps of woodwork, traditional building, Bush craft and survival skills and I love doing anything creative with my hands, especially with wool, spinning, weaving, felting, stitching, sewing, making jewellery, wallhangings or virtually anything I can think of hats, ponchos, socks. Natural dyeing and eco printing are a big passion too. I do all these things all the time and happy to share some knowledge.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love to host someone with building, gardening. maybe you could teach us something :)

    We mostly have projects that involve building, gardening, landscaping and fencing.
    This autumn we want to plant out 50 - 100 more fruit trees and need help with that.
    We live a lifestyle where we don't like to use heavy and expensive, noisy machinery. We prefer doing things here by hand so jobs require some kind of physical strength. However if you're not used to this we can also find work thats suitable for your skills.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll stay in your own sleepout with lots of big windows looking out into the new zealand native bush and you'll hear kiwis outside every night.

    We would ask for 4-5 hours of help a day/5 days a week, in exchange for 3 meals & accommodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's heaps of bush to explore in our place and beautiful kauri bush walks 15 min drive from our place too with huge trees.

    We have a river you can swim in and lots of animals to hang out with.

    Crafting (we have sooo many craft supplies), reading (we have a big book collection), yoga, meditation

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of parking space for 4WD access vehicles, limited space for 2WD But usually when we have people over in 2WD we drive them in with all their stuff and the car is at the front gate safely parked a couple of minutes walk away from the house on private land.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 231592853392

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Help us maintain our beautiful garden and enjoy our quiet home in a peaceful rural setting, Russell, New Zealand
Gardening, Ruby Bay coast, South Island, New Zealand