Easy projects and healthy food in Portland, USA


United States

Favourited 196 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    Our kids are off to college and we have plenty of open bedrooms. Dave and I (Amy) have our own business making kombucha - Oregonic Tonic. I'm also a massage therapist and Dave is a house remodeler. We don't have a lot of spare time to do extra projects around the house. We would like help in our home yard, and garden. Also if you like to cook, we'd love to try your favorite dish. Bring your favorite recipe and we'll supply the ingredients. (This is only if you like to cook and not an expectation).

    We have 2 entertaining dogs and 3 laying hens. We're avid surfers and drive to the coast as often as we can. Travelers are always welcome to come along. Our home is less than 1 block from public transportation. We have traveled throughout Europe and South, Central and North America. We want to share our home with other travelers.

    Ideally, we're hoping to find work-awayers to stay 4 to 14 days. Non-smokers, please.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our home is very accessible to down town Portland and many other artistic neighborhoods. Public transportation offers easy access to all of the sites in Portland. We are walking distance to several parks and to the St. John's neighborhood. Dave and I love traveling and are always grateful when others have been generous to us on the road. We would like to share that same hospitality. Travelers could also learn skills in building and remodeling.

  • Help


    We have serval house projects such as landscaping, gardening, painting. Nothing requires specific skills. We have a long list of projects at home. We're pretty easy going so would give travelers the freedom to choose projects on the list.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Travelers would have a private bedroom and bathroom. We have a two level house. Travelers would mostly have their own level of the house. This level has a bedroom, bathroom, sitting area and kitchenette. The bedroom area is closed off from the rest of the level to provide privacy. This level also has the laundry room. We would only enter the common area to use the laundry room and occasionally watch TV (which we rarely do). Visitors are welcome to use the kitchen.
    For Food: You're welcome to eat with us or make your own food (which we'll provide). Breakfasts are usually light, cereal, toast, jam, fruit, coffee or tea, occasionally eggs. When working with us, we'll provide lunch, which we make or order out. We usually make a healthy dinner. You're welcome to eat with us or we can save some for you. We keep a "snack cabinet" in the kitchen that you're welcome to help yourself to. There's always a combination of healthy snacks as well as what we like to call "comfort food". Weekends are on your own. There will be food in the house but you'll have to make it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Portland is a great city to visit. Public transportation is very easy to us and our home is accessible to major bus lines. We also have a bicycle you can use when we're not using them. When we go on excursions you're welcome to join or we could provide transportation to something on the way. It is also easy to use public transportation to go to the coast, the mountains and other towns in Oregon. Things you might like to see while you're here are: Washington Park, The Japanese Gardens, Alberta arts district, St. Johns bridge, St Johns neighborhood, Portland Art Museum, Mt Hood, Cannon Beach, Newport, Bend, Eugene.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Host ref number: 882835486284