Do you enjoy kayaking, hiking, camping? Come stay with us. n Prince George, beautiful British Columbia



Favourited 68 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    Hello Potential Workawayer. We are located in downtown Prince George, British Columbia (population 75,000). But don't stop reading yet - we have a lot of outdoor adventures! Although we live in the downtown area, our adventures take us out to our country property which is 40 minutes from town. We enjoy many activities such as kayaking, boating, fishing, waterskiing, hiking, camping, quadding etc... My husband and I are also Scout Canada Leaders of a small group of youth who enjoy many outdoor adventures which we would encourage our volunteer to participate in. We can accept someone right away but this person must be able to speak and read french fluently as our son is enrolled in a french school and we are primarily needing assistance for afterschool help with his french homework - ie reading and understanding the project instructions. You must like pets though as we have 3 dogs and a cat. Opportunity to visit a dog sled ranch also as my sister has 30 sled dogs about 25 minute drive. Our workaway volunteer is accepted into our family like one of our own and would be welcome to join us for our many adventures. We will be looking forward to learn about your culture and experiences as well as sharing ours.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Northern British Columbia region is really quite beautiful and due to our interests, our Workawayer is sure to experience some exciting fun outdoor adventures. We enjoy alot of kayaking, hiking, quadding, camping, boating to name a few activities. Also we are a very warm and welcoming family that is not just interested in the help from our Workawayer but would like to learn about their country and culture also. We have a map in our Hallway, that previous Workawayers have noted what city or area they are from that helps us better relate to our Volunteer. We have had 3 young ladies from France stay with us and the experience was fabulous. It does take a bit of time to get to know each other so we were hoping for a workaway than could stay a couple months but shorter stays are also welcome. Our workaway can feel a great sense of accomplishment having helped our son improve in school as he is struggling with his studies.

  • Help


    Hello Workawayer: First thing I should explain: We do not need alot of work to be done! For the most part we are looking for someone who could assist our 13 year old son Steven, with his french homework. He is a very co-operative young guy who is willing to accept help from others. Although we are primarily an english speaking family, our son is enrolled in a french school which is a popular choice of parents in Canada as it is one of our official languages. Steven is in grade 8 now, (highschool), and the hardest part of his schoolwork is understanding the instructions (which are all written in french). To have a Workawayer assist him with his homework would be of great appreciation to us. If our workawayer is willing to help with some of the housekeepingsuch as vacuuming, washing dishes ect... we would be thankful.
    We also take on many outdoor projects such as currently working on our lake property clearing an area in the woods to use for camping. We also volunteer at a local kids Scout camp with renovations, such as painting, stacking firewood etc.. We would like our Workawayer to join us with these type of activities, which are generally pretty easy going, comfortable pace projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english and some french

  • Accommodation


    We live in a large house. Our workaway will have a bedroom with attached private bathroom for our workawayer`s private use. The house itself has 7 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms and view facing downtown area of city. We are within walking distance of parks, stores and our house is on the city bus route. (5 min drive to pools, library, skating rinks, rec center, malls etc...) Workawayer may use my bike to explore the area also, during the late spring and summer months.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My husband and I run a first aid school which is a renovated church building. Our house is right beside it. The school is quite busy normally so we may be working during some of the daytime weekdays. However, if our workawayer has any concerns we can be easily contacted, as we work in the building just beside our house. As we are located right downtown our workwayer can easily explore this area by walking, using my bike, taking city bus ect... Occasionally we get the opportunity to travel to interesting places near our community and would bring our workawayer with us to join our family to see our beautiful countryside.
    Summer Activities:
    In the summer, we spend a lot of time at the local kids Scout camp volunteering with whatever renovations need to be done but don't worry it is not all work and no play. We know how to have fun! We like to boat, fish, waterski, swim, kayak. We are also taking on task of working at our new country lake property: clearing land for camping at the moment. Typically we many spend a couple hours working and then enjoy the remaining time outdoors having fun; such as kayaking, quadding, enjoying a good hot dog roast at the campfire.
    Winter Activities:
    If our workawayer loves dogs, she would be welcome to join me when I go out to my sister`s dog sledding ranch, just a short 25 minute drive North. At the dog ranch, in the winter, our workawayer would learn about dog-sledding and meet the mushers and their teams. There is an abundance of other sporting options, such as snow-shoeing, snowmobiling, hiking, skating, plus cross-country & downhill skiing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours per day - flexible.

Time for a hotdog roast!
Lori and Steven Teapot Mtn hiking
Bringing firewood to camp
Steven and our dog Skittles
Fun at the lake
Off road hover board new toy
Roy getting boat ready for water skiing
We enjoy quadding
Roy and Steven enjoying a kayak adventure
Steven with our chihuahua Burrito
Kayaking at our lake property
Dog sledding at my sisters

Host ref number: 876149955782