Equestrians come and help on our horse farm in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 387 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    12

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    We are currently looking for EXPERIENCED riders (dressage and jumping) and/or horse trainers (from August to May). We are also looking for help in the summer months (June and July) with gardening, horse care and fencing.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    Offering a unique horse riding opportunity in the Upper Ottawa Valley (Wilno, Ontario) for a competent, confident and experienced rider - please no beginners from the beginning of August to the end of May. Should be comfortable working with young horses.

    We live on a small horse farm in the heart of a beautiful, hilly, forested rural area with prime horseback riding and hiking. We also have a newly built (home made) cross country course to get young eventers ready for sale.

    Our family consists of Linda and Dale. We live on a small farm and there are amazing trails around - perfect to go riding! We are also joined most days on the farm by a family friend, Cari, who helps out with all of the horse stuff. She also manages our Workaway account, so she will be the one responding to interested travellers for us! We are not computer literate!

    We are looking for an EXPERIENCED rider and/or trainer to help get two horses ready to sell.

    Our animals include a pony, a mule, 5 horses (plus a friend's horse), a dog and a handful of cats and kittens.

    JUNE and JULY: WE DO NOT RIDE REGULARLY during this time because of all of the flies in the bush so work during this time is mainly feeding and watering horses as well as fencing and gardening. Although we sometimes ride to rotate horses on summer pasture, the riding is minimal as we do not train in the summer so this is a great time for non-riders or beginners to learn about horse care and maintenance.

    AUGUST TO JUNE: We do a lot of riding (2x a day when there is snow) and the younger horses are trained. There is some garden harvesting that gets done in the fall, but most of the work during this time is feeding and watering horses as well as exercising and training horses. During these months we would prefer competent and experienced riders with a passion for training.

    Thank you very much,

    Linda

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    1. You will get to practice your English! We have had Workawayers arrive speaking no English and we always find a way to communicate and teach you our language!

    2. You will get to work with horses.....A LOT! Including riding in some of the most beautiful landscapes Canada has to offer! Bring your camera....a GoPro is better!

    3. You will get to live, for a while, in the first Polish settlement in Canada. It dates back to 1858 and is still mostly populated with with descendents of the original Polish settlers.

    4. We often have more than one Workawayer on the farm, so you may get to learn about other countries and their food!

    5. Did we mention the scenery? Blankets of snow in winter, green as far as the eye can see in summer and forests of yellow, orange and red in the fall! BRING YOU CAMERA! :)

  • Help

    Help

    We URGENTLY NEED competent riders with a passion for training well broken green eventers from August to May and help with gardening and fencing in June and July. Must have riding boots to ride and be able to ride outside of a ring on trails and get up early in the morning.

    Help would include daily chores of caring for/feeding the horses, riding every day (often 2x a day during winter months), helping with meals, cleaning up, gardening, fencing as required, and help with photography and computer. Generally during the winter months though, it is just basic chores, and horse back riding. So light chores, and no shit shovelling!

    If you feel comfortable with training horses and have fun working with them, this will be perfect for you! You will also have the chance to ride the other horses, which are all very sweet and nice to handle :)

    We are deregulated, and break our horses in nature! We only require that you bring proper riding boots.

    Ideally we would be looking for someone to stay for at least two weeks, but we can be flexible :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in an old farm house with modern amenities - helpers get a private room with a single bed and all of your meals are provided. Don't worry, we have wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a pretty rural area - the horses and the outdoors is the main thing to do around here, but every Tuesday night there is live music in Wilno.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    maximum 25 hours per week. 2 days off

Cari and Jarmo
Josje (Workawayer) and Judge
Rike (Workawayer) and Venus, Cari and Buckshot and Camille (Workawayer) and Spike
Cari and Storm
Rike (Workawayer) and Jarmo
Lu (Workawayer) and Judge
Jarmo and Judge
A game of horse tag anyone?!?!
Jacinta (Workawayer) and Jarmo, Cari and Spike, Linda and Storm and Morgane (Workawayer) and Venus
Linda and Spike, Jacinta (Workawayer) and Sookie and Linda (Workawayer) and Judge
Linda on a ride with our mule Sookie
Mr. Spike

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 873555627558